+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Full Member DRBJR45's Avatar
    Discipline
    Manufacture
    DRBJR45's Discipline Details
    Discipline
    Manufacture
    Details
    ARCHITECTURAL METAL METALS, ORNAMENTAL IRON, PACKAGE DESIGN. LOTS OF SHEET METAL AND CNC, WATER JET, PLASMA AND LASER.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    PHOENIX ARIZONA USA
    Posts
    38

    Default Dynamic block and viewport

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Is it possible to use a DB with viewports? The attached file contains the DB with notes indicating what I would like to do with the DB. Basically I made a stretchable box that would be used on our detail sheets. This box has text that will stay at its location in relation to the DB. I've noticed that I can not use constraints on the DB after its inserted into the drawing. Is this normal? For example, I want to add a viewport to the DB and constrain its size using parametric dims but when I do this the DB is no longer a DB. Hopefully the attached file can better explain what I need. Perhaps I'm asking too much.

    THANKS!
    Attached Files

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Computer Details
    iconeo's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    iconeo's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Manager/Draftsman
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Using
    AutoCAD 2017
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    259

    Default

    VIEWPORT.dwg

    (Dimensional) constraints are required to make this work. Unfortunately, you can't apply them to a viewport. You can tie the viewport scale in using fields though and size the viewport properly initially.

    I would probably add some defpoint points at the corners of the viewport in case you have to change the size after. Note that I didn't add the attdef items.

    Thanks.

  3. #3
    Full Member DRBJR45's Avatar
    Discipline
    Manufacture
    DRBJR45's Discipline Details
    Discipline
    Manufacture
    Details
    ARCHITECTURAL METAL METALS, ORNAMENTAL IRON, PACKAGE DESIGN. LOTS OF SHEET METAL AND CNC, WATER JET, PLASMA AND LASER.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    PHOENIX ARIZONA USA
    Posts
    38

    Default

    iconeo,

    Thanks, you confirmed what I feared. I can get the DB to work with all the attributes and stretching, but getting the viewport to work is a no go. In a perfect world I should be able create the DB with a viewport that works when inserted (naturally in PS).

    Also, I noticed if I add a dimension to the DB after I insert it into a drawing, the DB is no longer a DB. By adding a dimension all the parameters are "turned off" and I'm stuck with a dumb block.

  4. #4
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2016
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    88

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by DRBJR45 View Post
    iconeo,
    Also, I noticed if I add a dimension to the DB after I insert it into a drawing, the DB is no longer a DB. By adding a dimension all the parameters are "turned off" and I'm stuck with a dumb block.
    I have dynamic blocks that work perfectly with dimensions in it, including stretching, flipping, rotating and visibility parameters.

  5. #5
    Full Member DRBJR45's Avatar
    Discipline
    Manufacture
    DRBJR45's Discipline Details
    Discipline
    Manufacture
    Details
    ARCHITECTURAL METAL METALS, ORNAMENTAL IRON, PACKAGE DESIGN. LOTS OF SHEET METAL AND CNC, WATER JET, PLASMA AND LASER.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    PHOENIX ARIZONA USA
    Posts
    38

    Default

    nope....using a "dimensional constraint" dumbs it down...

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Computer Details
    iconeo's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    iconeo's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Manager/Draftsman
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Using
    AutoCAD 2017
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    259

    Default

    I find that using dimensional constraints makes the smartest blocks possible...

  7. #7
    Full Member DRBJR45's Avatar
    Discipline
    Manufacture
    DRBJR45's Discipline Details
    Discipline
    Manufacture
    Details
    ARCHITECTURAL METAL METALS, ORNAMENTAL IRON, PACKAGE DESIGN. LOTS OF SHEET METAL AND CNC, WATER JET, PLASMA AND LASER.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    PHOENIX ARIZONA USA
    Posts
    38

    Default

    I agree,,,,,,but as I stated before, adding dimensional constraints AFTER the DB is inserted makes the DB useless. My hope was to add a viewport to a DB and constrain the viewport so as when I stretch the DB the viewport remains centered in the DB.

    I believe making this ability a reality would open so many doors to creating more robust dynamic blocks.

  8. #8
    Full Member DRBJR45's Avatar
    Discipline
    Manufacture
    DRBJR45's Discipline Details
    Discipline
    Manufacture
    Details
    ARCHITECTURAL METAL METALS, ORNAMENTAL IRON, PACKAGE DESIGN. LOTS OF SHEET METAL AND CNC, WATER JET, PLASMA AND LASER.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    PHOENIX ARIZONA USA
    Posts
    38

    Default Dynamic block with viewport

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Hi,

    The attached is what I want the dynamic block to do. I simply created a rectangle with viewport and text that work similar to a dynamic block, but it has problems. Would love some input.

    thanks
    Attached Files

Similar Threads

  1. multiple dynamic constraints in a dynamic block
    By Huibert in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 14th Aug 2013, 06:52 pm
  2. Insert dynamic block from file with multiple dynamic blocks
    By BUrBaKy in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 14th Nov 2012, 11:38 pm
  3. Looking to *Insert Dynamic Block and rotate Dynamic Grip*
    By sbrennan85 in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 5th May 2012, 04:14 pm
  4. Dynamic Block... No Longer Dynamic!
    By m1ck3y in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: 25th Jun 2010, 03:11 pm
  5. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 26th Jun 2009, 04:50 pm

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts