+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 3 of 3
  1. #1
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Posts
    34

    Default Link Revit = Wblock or Xref

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Hi TZ,

    I have come across this Link Revit icon under the Insert Tab.

    I am now into balcony grills and since they are a little bit intricate and to be built entirely out from scratch, I want them isolatedly done without the noise, pollution, and traffic load of the existing components and elements in the drawing model, just like in AutoCAD to be xrefed like complicated drawing blocks. And if they are to be updated, they are out of the way of the host file and vice versa, so it's much comfortable to edit them.

    Before I proceed, does this Link Revit works the same way?

    What other techniques are used as per this situation?

  2. #2
    Luminous Being RobDraw's Avatar
    Using
    MEP 2017
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Connecticut, USA
    Posts
    5,165

    Default

    A link in Revit is like an XREF.

    Groups in Revit are similar to blocks.

    I cannot speak as to what is best for your situation. Personally, I would keep the model simple and let a detail cover the intricacies of the construction of the grill.
    Drafting is a breeze.

  3. #3
    Luminous Being tzframpton's Avatar
    Computer Details
    tzframpton's Computer Details
    Computer:
    HP Zbook
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    tzframpton's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    BIM Specialist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Full Virtual Design and Construction BIM services for the MEP engineering and construction industries.
    Using
    Revit 2018
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Dallas, TX - USA
    Posts
    9,048

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Linking is intended for referencing an entire project, not a small portion of components.

    You're using an AutoCAD mindset on this one. Revit is best used with all components integrated in the same model. Breaking them up would severely cripple the model and certainly the information. To get rid of the "noise and pollution", all you'd have to do is set up a View accordingly hiding Elements or Categories as needed.

    And Rob is correct in his descriptions. My take is slightly different than his, as follows:
    • Link is similar to XREF, but intended for referencing entire projects, such as a structural project linking to an architectural project.
    • A Revit Family is similar to an AutoCAD Dynamic Block, but defined via category and is fully three dimensional other than a few types (Annotations, Detail Component, etc).
    • Groups behave similar to AutoCAD Blocks, but wouldn't be accurate to compare them equally.
    Tannar Z. Frampton ™ | Frampton & Associates, Inc.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 11
    Last Post: 19th Jan 2012, 08:29 pm
  2. Can't re-establish broken link in 'XREF'
    By ADAM'S_APPLE in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11th Oct 2011, 01:53 pm
  3. Link Revit model into current revit model
    By miyuki_mll in forum Revit General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2nd Nov 2009, 11:58 am
  4. XREF'S not sustaining their link
    By tzframpton in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 28th Jul 2008, 01:36 pm
  5. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 19th Feb 2008, 04:30 am

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts