+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14
  1. #1
    Luminous Being tzframpton's Avatar
    Computer Details
    tzframpton's Computer Details
    Computer:
    HP Zbook
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    tzframpton's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    BIM Specialist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Full Virtual Design and Construction BIM services for the MEP engineering and construction industries.
    Using
    Revit 2018
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Dallas, TX - USA
    Posts
    9,049

    Question Work and home computer via EULA with new Desktop Subscriptions?

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Does anybody know about installing on work and home computers with the Desktop Subscriptions? I knew this was an option in the EULA with the perpetual licensing (the licensing that's been around forever).

    If you can't, how well does the transfer license utility work to swap between computers? I currently have a single user license with Bluebeam and their license transfer is seamless and easy. If it's something like that, then I wouldn't mind using it.

    Any ideas on this? Thanks!

    -TZ
    Tannar Z. Frampton ™ | Frampton & Associates, Inc.

  2. #2
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,448

    Default

    Yes, you can install your software on both your work and home computers with the Desktop Subscription. Been doing it for more years than I care to admit. Have NEVER used the license transfer utility either. Every year I call my local reseller and ask "Is it still legal to run the same version of AutoCAD at home that I do at work?" His response...."Yes, as long as it isn't concurrent." "Thanks, Don. Have a good day." "Bye." "Bye Mark." And that's all it have ever taken. I think the last time round the entire conversation took less than 30 seconds.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  3. #3
    Luminous Being tzframpton's Avatar
    Computer Details
    tzframpton's Computer Details
    Computer:
    HP Zbook
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    tzframpton's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    BIM Specialist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Full Virtual Design and Construction BIM services for the MEP engineering and construction industries.
    Using
    Revit 2018
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Dallas, TX - USA
    Posts
    9,049

    Default

    Great! Thanks for the confirmation Mark.

    -TZ
    Tannar Z. Frampton ™ | Frampton & Associates, Inc.

  4. #4
    Full Member
    Computer Details
    Handiman's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    (W) Win 10, x64 / (H) Win 7 Prof. x64
    Computer:
    (W) Custom / (H) Custom i5
    Motherboard:
    (W) Asus X99-A II / (H) ASUS P8Z7- V Pro
    CPU:
    (W) i7-6800K (H) i5-3570K
    RAM:
    (W) 32GB (H) 32GB
    Graphics:
    (W) GTX-1070 (H) Quadro K4000 & GeForce 660ti
    Primary Storage:
    (W) 950 Pro 512GB SSD (H) 256GB, 60GB SSD's
    Secondary Storage:
    (W) 850 Pro SSD, 1TB platter (H) 3 TB 7200Rrpms
    Monitor:
    (W) Dual ASUS 27" (H) Dual ASUS 27" MX-279H
    Discipline
    Manufacture
    Handiman's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Detailing/Designing Stair handrails, Illuminated & Non-Illuminated
    Discipline
    Manufacture
    Details
    Handrails for Commercial and Residential Illuminated and Non-Illuminated (LED mostly)
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Dallas TX
    Posts
    97

    Default

    I have done the same in the past.
    If I remember correctly you need to get a new activation code from your software rep for the 2nd activation.
    I am pretty sure it isn't the same key but is linked to your 1st activation.
    It is the same process except for the different key code.

    Since I am responding a couple of days after the question, did you get it activated? If so can you tell us the steps?
    Just so if someone does a search they may find this.
    Thanks

  5. #5
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,448

    Default

    Yes, a new (different) activation code is required but it does not come from the software rep (i.e. - authorized reseller). It comes via a download during the activation process.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  6. #6
    Forum Deity rkent's Avatar
    Computer Details
    rkent's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    WIN7 PRO 64bit
    Computer:
    Dell OptiPlex 7020
    CPU:
    i7 4790 3.6GHz
    RAM:
    16GB, 1600MHz, DDR3 non-ECC 2x8GB
    Graphics:
    AMD Radeon 2GB
    Primary Storage:
    Samsung 480Gb SSD
    Monitor:
    Dell 24" FS (2x)
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    rkent's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Facilities Design - Semi-conductor manufacturing
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    Details
    Designer: Process Piping, P&ID's, Machine Part Design, Planning / General Arrangement. Facilities Management. Drafting: Electrical, Controls, Architectural.
    Using
    Mechanical 2017
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Lat:35, Long:-106, Elev: 5164'
    Posts
    4,579

    Default

    They no longer call it the EULA and instead it is the License and Services Agreement, lawyers I guess splitting hairs. Anyway the part you want is in Appendix B for a single license.

    I just realized you asked about desktop subscriptions so the above probably doesn't apply.
    Attached Images
    Last edited by rkent; 19th Nov 2015 at 04:30 pm. Reason: added words
    Sometimes there's a man... I won't say a hero, 'cause, what's a hero? But sometimes, there's a man. And I'm talkin' about the Dude here. Sometimes, there's a man, well, he's the man for his time and place. He fits right in there. And that's the Dude, in Los Angeles. - The Stranger, The Big Lebowski

  7. #7
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,448

    Default

    Well I meet all four of those conditions so it was no problem for me.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  8. #8
    Forum Deity rkent's Avatar
    Computer Details
    rkent's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    WIN7 PRO 64bit
    Computer:
    Dell OptiPlex 7020
    CPU:
    i7 4790 3.6GHz
    RAM:
    16GB, 1600MHz, DDR3 non-ECC 2x8GB
    Graphics:
    AMD Radeon 2GB
    Primary Storage:
    Samsung 480Gb SSD
    Monitor:
    Dell 24" FS (2x)
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    rkent's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Facilities Design - Semi-conductor manufacturing
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    Details
    Designer: Process Piping, P&ID's, Machine Part Design, Planning / General Arrangement. Facilities Management. Drafting: Electrical, Controls, Architectural.
    Using
    Mechanical 2017
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Lat:35, Long:-106, Elev: 5164'
    Posts
    4,579

    Default

    Do you have desktop subscription? The LSA may read different for those compared to the perpetual licenses.
    Sometimes there's a man... I won't say a hero, 'cause, what's a hero? But sometimes, there's a man. And I'm talkin' about the Dude here. Sometimes, there's a man, well, he's the man for his time and place. He fits right in there. And that's the Dude, in Los Angeles. - The Stranger, The Big Lebowski

  9. #9
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,448

    Default

    We have been on Subscription for the last four years and the subject never came up in the course of any of my phone calls to the rep. "You're good Mark," is about all he has to say.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  10. #10
    Forum Deity rkent's Avatar
    Computer Details
    rkent's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    WIN7 PRO 64bit
    Computer:
    Dell OptiPlex 7020
    CPU:
    i7 4790 3.6GHz
    RAM:
    16GB, 1600MHz, DDR3 non-ECC 2x8GB
    Graphics:
    AMD Radeon 2GB
    Primary Storage:
    Samsung 480Gb SSD
    Monitor:
    Dell 24" FS (2x)
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    rkent's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Facilities Design - Semi-conductor manufacturing
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    Details
    Designer: Process Piping, P&ID's, Machine Part Design, Planning / General Arrangement. Facilities Management. Drafting: Electrical, Controls, Architectural.
    Using
    Mechanical 2017
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Lat:35, Long:-106, Elev: 5164'
    Posts
    4,579

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Quote Originally Posted by ReMark View Post
    We have been on Subscription for the last four years and the subject never came up in the course of any of my phone calls to the rep. "You're good Mark," is about all he has to say.
    You do know there are two types of Subscriptions now, right? You are on Maintenance Subscription for a perpetual license, the question is for a Desktop Subscription.
    Sometimes there's a man... I won't say a hero, 'cause, what's a hero? But sometimes, there's a man. And I'm talkin' about the Dude here. Sometimes, there's a man, well, he's the man for his time and place. He fits right in there. And that's the Dude, in Los Angeles. - The Stranger, The Big Lebowski

Similar Threads

  1. Home Computer Licence Option
    By jl9r in forum Autodesk Inventor
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 24th Apr 2014, 08:20 am
  2. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 3rd Aug 2011, 11:03 am
  3. Autodesk EULA - Installing on a work & home machine?
    By tzframpton in forum Software & Licensing
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 1st Oct 2010, 02:52 pm
  4. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 23rd Jun 2009, 10:29 pm
  5. Print Large Plans On My Home Computer In AutoCad 2006??
    By tcr1016 in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 23rd Mar 2006, 05:48 am

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts