Dimension Style Manager

taksa02

Hello,

I'm a student and I'm using Technical Drawing 101 with Autocad 2016 by Antonio Ramirez as the semester text. I am on chapter 5, Dimensioning, and am working on the "Matching" questions. There are five dimension style manager tabs listed, Primary Units, Lines, Text, Fit, and Symbols and Arrows, and you have to match them with their function. I can't find a reference anywhere to the description "where the orientation of arrowheads on circles and arcs is defined." And it seems to me that "Symbols and Arrows" matches two different descriptions. Help!

Symbols and arrows means the artifacts used to mark the ends (limits) of your dimension lines. and what "symbol" you use to indicate a Center Mark. Open circles, filled circles, architectural tick marks and ARROWS are all generically referred to as symbols. ALL of the positioning of ALL dimension symbols is controlled on the Symbols and Arrows tab.

The only positioning of any symbol specifically for arcs and circles anywhere that I have EVER found is for the "ARC" symbol on an arc length dimension. What they DON'T tell you is that particular option also controls the position of the "R" in a Radius, and the "D" in a diameter dimension.

Thank you, Dana. If I understand you correctly, then I have at least three descriptions that fit the Symbols and Arrows tab: (1) the tab where dimension arrow size is defined; (2) the tab where orientation of arrowheads on circles and arcs is defined; and (3) the tab where center mark style is defined. My problem is that this book has not done this before. If it gives you five things to match, they will all match five different things. My other choices here are the tabs for dimension height (text) and precision (Primary Units). But that leaves Fit and Lines tabs unanswered. Am I making sense here?

(2) the tab where orientation of arrowheads on circles and arcs is defined;