+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17
  1. #1
    Senior Member welldriller's Avatar
    Computer Details
    welldriller's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 10 Home
    Computer:
    Dell inspiration 3650
    CPU:
    x64 processor
    RAM:
    8 GB
    Monitor:
    Dell P190SB#4
    Using
    Solidworks 2017
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Prince George, Va.
    Posts
    299

    Default Upload to the forum from a flash drive

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Is it possible to upload a picture or an image (done in Autocad) to the forum that is not in .jpg format. Is there a way to use copy/pase or some other way?

  2. #2
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,357

    Default

    The list of acceptable file formats was created for a reason. If your image does not match one of the formats on the list then you are out of luck. It's "upload and attach" not "copy and paste".
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  3. #3
    Super Moderator Cad64's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Cad64's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Profesional x64
    Computer:
    XI Computers
    Motherboard:
    Asus P8Z77-V Pro
    CPU:
    Intel Core I7 3770K 4.1 Ghz Quad Core 3rd Gen
    RAM:
    24GB DDR3 @ 1333MHz
    Graphics:
    Nvidia GeForce GTX 570 1280MB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    SATAII 500GB 7200 RPM
    Secondary Storage:
    Western Digital My Book Studio Edition II - 2TB capacity
    Monitor:
    HPf2105 21" LCD Widescreen & Cintiq 21ux
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Cad64's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Freelance Digital Artist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    3D model building, texturing and rendering. Photoshop Color Graphics.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    10,139

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by welldriller View Post
    Is it possible to upload a picture or an image (done in Autocad) to the forum that is not in .jpg format.
    Accepted image file formats: GIF, JPG and PNG

    What file format are your images?

    Do you have access to Photoshop or any other image editing software that will allow you to save your images to one of the 3 formats listed above? If not, maybe you should download GIMP. It's free: https://www.gimp.org/
    CGSociety Portfolio: http://rdeweese.cgsociety.org/
    Facebook:
    https://www.facebook.com/rdeweese67/


    "Work Smart, Not Hard"

  4. #4
    Forum Deity Dana W's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Dana W's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 8 64 bit
    Computer:
    Dell XPS ONE 2710
    Motherboard:
    Dunno
    CPU:
    Intel I-5 3330S @ 2.7 Ghz
    RAM:
    6 Gb
    Graphics:
    On board barely adequate
    Primary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte
    Secondary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte external
    Monitor:
    All in one 27" touch & pen
    Discipline
    Construction
    Dana W's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Architectural Millwork Designer/Draftsman
    Discipline
    Construction
    Details
    Custom commercial millwork.
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2018
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Oviedo, Florida
    Posts
    4,675

    Default

    A flash drive is just another file directory, simply browse to it and follow the directions, after you hit the "Go Advanced" button. That is if it is a file format that the forum will accept, and below the file size limits for that format.
    The S197 gen Ford Mustang, and the F-4 Phantom both prove the same theory. "With enough power applied, a school bus will fly."

  5. #5
    Luminous Being Dadgad's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    At the confluence of worthlessness & invaluability
    Posts
    5,964

    Default

    If it is a .dwg file, that can of course, be uploaded too.
    Volume and repetition do not validate opinions forged in the absence of thought.

  6. #6
    Senior Member welldriller's Avatar
    Computer Details
    welldriller's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 10 Home
    Computer:
    Dell inspiration 3650
    CPU:
    x64 processor
    RAM:
    8 GB
    Monitor:
    Dell P190SB#4
    Using
    Solidworks 2017
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Prince George, Va.
    Posts
    299

    Default

    OK thanks to all of you. As usual all good advise.

  7. #7
    Senior Member welldriller's Avatar
    Computer Details
    welldriller's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 10 Home
    Computer:
    Dell inspiration 3650
    CPU:
    x64 processor
    RAM:
    8 GB
    Monitor:
    Dell P190SB#4
    Using
    Solidworks 2017
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Prince George, Va.
    Posts
    299

    Default

    HOW TO SMOOTH POLYLINE.dwg Could someone let me kno if this worked.

  8. #8
    Senior Member TheCADnoob's Avatar
    Discipline
    See details...
    TheCADnoob's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Drafter
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    Got a degree in rocket surgery that I cant use so I'm doing CAD work. I literally have my hands on all disciplines and am loving every minute of it, unfortunately by not specializing I believe I have found the Zen Noob. Jack of all master of none.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Posts
    242

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by welldriller View Post
    Attachment 56311 Could someone let me kno if this worked.
    There's no real wrong way to create geometry, its just weather or no it meets your needs. That being said there are faster ways. I would have probably used a fillet.
    IT - "I would be glad to help you, but first I need you to make sure you computer is plugged in."
    CADnoob - "I'm Not that dumb"
    IT - "I'm sure you are not, but could you just humor me?"
    CADnoob - "Ok Ok... let see.. Crap! Never mind, thanks for your help."

  9. #9
    Senior Member welldriller's Avatar
    Computer Details
    welldriller's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 10 Home
    Computer:
    Dell inspiration 3650
    CPU:
    x64 processor
    RAM:
    8 GB
    Monitor:
    Dell P190SB#4
    Using
    Solidworks 2017
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Prince George, Va.
    Posts
    299

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by TheCADnoob View Post
    There's no real wrong way to create geometry, its just weather or no it meets your needs. That being said there are faster ways. I would have probably used a fillet.
    ok thank you for getting back to so quick.

  10. #10
    Forum Deity
    Using
    AutoCAD 2002
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    East Sussex, U.K.
    Posts
    4,039

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    I would comment that your method of smoothing produces three entities:- one arc and two polylines.

    If you use the fillet method, you end up with one polyline.

Similar Threads

  1. How Can I Upload An IPT File To This Forum ?
    By vertical horizons in forum Autodesk Inventor
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 3rd May 2010, 04:42 pm
  2. Save work on student version to flash drive?
    By thegrange in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 28th Oct 2008, 06:01 am
  3. cant upload to forum
    By studiorat in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 15th Feb 2008, 06:58 pm
  4. flash drive modelling
    By ascorbic in forum Tutorials & Tips'n'Tricks
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 9th Feb 2008, 07:44 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts