+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    3

    Default Preview drawing before printing

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Hi guys,
    Is it possible to specify zoom factor that will show on my monitor same size as will printed on paper?
    For example: i'm making drawing in 1:100 scale in milimeters,
    and before printing it i want to make sure that everything is readable.
    I know that depands on screen resolution, dpi and pixel size.

  2. #2
    Forum Deity Dana W's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Dana W's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 8 64 bit
    Computer:
    Dell XPS ONE 2710
    Motherboard:
    Dunno
    CPU:
    Intel I-5 3330S @ 2.7 Ghz
    RAM:
    6 Gb
    Graphics:
    On board barely adequate
    Primary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte
    Secondary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte external
    Monitor:
    All in one 27" touch & pen
    Discipline
    Construction
    Dana W's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Architectural Millwork Designer/Draftsman
    Discipline
    Construction
    Details
    Custom commercial millwork.
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2018
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Oviedo, Florida
    Posts
    4,717

    Default

    There is a Zoom Original on the preview tool bar, but it doesn't work the way one would expect, which is a result of about 25% actual size.

    I find it critical enough to test print for the same reason sometimes. I print to pdf, and then Zoom Actual Size. Adobe Reader does display it to actual size. Close enough to take measurements right off the screen.

    You only have to mess with one page to test font sizes.
    The S197 gen Ford Mustang, and the F-4 Phantom both prove the same theory. "With enough power applied, a school bus will fly."

  3. #3
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    3

    Default

    Thanks for quick reply.
    In photoshop is feature called real size.
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Lt_vn_fDqgQ

  4. #4
    Forum Deity Organic's Avatar
    Discipline
    Civil
    Using
    AutoCAD not applicable
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    2,338

    Default

    This is a good question and not something I have tried before. I would be interested to see if this was possible.

  5. #5
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    3

    Default

    I'm making calculations, and will try to make simple lisp for that.

  6. #6
    Junior Member ParsonTim's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ParsonTim's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Discipline
    Architectural
    ParsonTim's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Online Drafting Teacher, Sheriff's Chaplain, part time deputy, Drafting now a side line.
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Details
    Actually I'm a general drafter with training in: Architecture Civil Industrial Layout Crime Scene Reconstruction Machine
    Using
    not applicable
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    Athens, TN USA
    Posts
    12

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Dana W View Post
    I find it critical enough to test print for the same reason sometimes. I print to pdf, and then Zoom Actual Size. Adobe Reader does display it to actual size. Close enough to take measurements right off the screen.
    That solution has been right in front of me the whole time. It would have come in handy a few months ago when I was drawing gasket templates for a local machine shop. Thumbs up on this answer!

  7. #7
    Forum Deity steven-g's Avatar
    Computer Details
    steven-g's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Win 7
    Discipline
    Construction
    steven-g's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Draughtsman
    Discipline
    Construction
    Details
    I work in the estimating department of a large building contractor.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    An Englishman in Belgium
    Posts
    2,063

    Default

    Interesting idea, I usually print a hard copy and then adjust as neccessary, but adjusting the screen size to suit sounded like a good idea. Anyways here's a simple macro that works for me
    Code:
    ^C^C^CZ;OB;\;Z;$M=$(*,1.17,$(getvar,cannoscalevalue));
    The numer "1.17" in the macro is a result of the pysical screen resolution height (1920 x 1200) divided by the Autocad screen drawing size (1780 x 1034 from the variable screensize) and then fudged a bit, because zooming to an object actually leaves a couple of pixels free space around the object so 1200/1034=1.16 which gives good results for just visual checking, but changing that value to 1.17 actually scales perfectly.
    This only works in model space and uses the annotation scale from the status bar to show objects as they would be scaled on paper.
    The macro lets you pick an object which will be centered on the screen. If anyone wants to try it out you might need to adjust the macro to suit yourself, I just found it interesting to try.

  8. #8
    Forum Deity Dana W's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Dana W's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 8 64 bit
    Computer:
    Dell XPS ONE 2710
    Motherboard:
    Dunno
    CPU:
    Intel I-5 3330S @ 2.7 Ghz
    RAM:
    6 Gb
    Graphics:
    On board barely adequate
    Primary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte
    Secondary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte external
    Monitor:
    All in one 27" touch & pen
    Discipline
    Construction
    Dana W's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Architectural Millwork Designer/Draftsman
    Discipline
    Construction
    Details
    Custom commercial millwork.
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2018
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Oviedo, Florida
    Posts
    4,717

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ParsonTim View Post
    That solution has been right in front of me the whole time. It would have come in handy a few months ago when I was drawing gasket templates for a local machine shop. Thumbs up on this answer!
    Yeah, just be sure you are using the native screen resolution in Control Panel.
    The S197 gen Ford Mustang, and the F-4 Phantom both prove the same theory. "With enough power applied, a school bus will fly."

  9. #9
    Luminous Being RobDraw's Avatar
    Using
    MEP 2017
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Connecticut, USA
    Posts
    5,169

    Default

    I gotta laugh every time someone else posts here. Not at anyone in particular but the entire concept of having your monitor reflect true size of a plot. The first time I put a scale to a monitor I laughed my (you know what) off, at myself. I wasn't trying to get an real measurement but a ratio of a couple of measurements. It was on a "flat screen" CRT which wasn't quite flat. Anyway, I did do it a number of times afterwards and every time I remembered how funny I thought it was the first time. So, to this day, it still cracks me up.

    IMHO though, the only real value I see in it is saving paper. How much paper you save for a couple of test plots? Well, I guess your mileage may vary.
    Drafting is a breeze.

  10. #10
    Forum Deity Dana W's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Dana W's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 8 64 bit
    Computer:
    Dell XPS ONE 2710
    Motherboard:
    Dunno
    CPU:
    Intel I-5 3330S @ 2.7 Ghz
    RAM:
    6 Gb
    Graphics:
    On board barely adequate
    Primary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte
    Secondary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte external
    Monitor:
    All in one 27" touch & pen
    Discipline
    Construction
    Dana W's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Architectural Millwork Designer/Draftsman
    Discipline
    Construction
    Details
    Custom commercial millwork.
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2018
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Oviedo, Florida
    Posts
    4,717

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Quote Originally Posted by RobDraw View Post
    I gotta laugh every time someone else posts here. Not at anyone in particular but the entire concept of having your monitor reflect true size of a plot. The first time I put a scale to a monitor I laughed my (you know what) off, at myself. I wasn't trying to get an real measurement but a ratio of a couple of measurements. It was on a "flat screen" CRT which wasn't quite flat. Anyway, I did do it a number of times afterwards and every time I remembered how funny I thought it was the first time. So, to this day, it still cracks me up.

    IMHO though, the only real value I see in it is saving paper. How much paper you save for a couple of test plots? Well, I guess your mileage may vary.
    Yeah, but... Yeah, but.... Back in the day Adobe couldn't do it. Now it can, within a pixel width. I used to think it was hilarious too. Then, the Sheldon Coopers of the world have worked it out, and fixed it for us.

    If you think that's funny, you should watch somebody try it on a touch screen.

    It saves a lot of paper when the primary printer is a $129.85 Dell 8.5 x 11 only, and you have to print Poster and tape it together.

    Anyway, to get a virtual "test print" to see if the fonts were readable, Adobe zoom actual size works pretty well.

    Hint to the OP: For dimensions, anything bigger than 3/32" as measured in paperspace is fairly readable. 1/8" is ideal.
    The S197 gen Ford Mustang, and the F-4 Phantom both prove the same theory. "With enough power applied, a school bus will fly."

Similar Threads

  1. Printing Lisp for previous plot, Window selection and Preview needed.
    By Saqib_theleo in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 21st May 2015, 04:11 am
  2. Autocad LT 2012 is not printing what I have in print preview
    By cognitivecomputing in forum AutoCAD Bugs, Error Messages & Quirks
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 3rd Apr 2013, 04:47 pm
  3. properties line egual, but apparence (print preview and printing) different
    By batiscaff in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 19th Aug 2011, 01:32 pm
  4. Printing problem - Nothing in preview, nothing on paper.
    By JamyB in forum AutoCAD 2D Drafting, Object Properties & Interface
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 15th Mar 2010, 05:53 pm
  5. plot preview showing and printing in color HELP!!!
    By dboy413 in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 7th Sep 2008, 10:44 pm

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts