+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 3 of 3
  1. #1
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2006
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    8

    Default Moving drawing from one layer to another

    I'm looking for a way (or several) to move parts of a drawing from the current layer to a different layer. Also, do most CAD users use the same color for everything on a particular layer, or do they switch layers when changing colors? Thanks in advance for any suggestions..........................

  2. #2
    Super Moderator Cad64's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Cad64's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Profesional x64
    Computer:
    XI Computers
    Motherboard:
    Asus P8Z77-V Pro
    CPU:
    Intel Core I7 3770K 4.1 Ghz Quad Core 3rd Gen
    RAM:
    8GB DDR3 @ 1333MHz
    Graphics:
    Nvidia GeForce GTX 570 1280MB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    SATAII 500GB 7200 RPM
    Secondary Storage:
    Western Digital My Book Studio Edition II - 2TB capacity
    Monitor:
    HPf2105 21" LCD Widescreen & Cintiq 21ux
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Cad64's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Freelance Digital Artist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    In a nutshell, I create 3D models from the client's CAD files or design sketches which I then use to produce high quality rendered images. Click on the link in my signature to view my portfolio. I'm always looking for work, so let me know if you need any custom models or renders. :)
    Using
    3ds Max 2011
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    9,013

    Default

    If you want to move everything on one layer to another layer, you could use the QSELECT command. Among other things, this will select all objects on a layer you specify.

    If you just want to move some objects from one layer to another, you could use the Express Tools LAYISO command to isolate the one layer so that you can easily pick the objects you want to move. After you move them, use the LAYUNISO command to bring all layers back.

    My personal opinion on layers is that you should keep everything ByLayer. Object properties should be determined by which layer they are on, not by overriding their individual properties. If I'm drawing walls with the color set to yellow and the linetype continuous, I will switch to a different layer in order to draw a hidden line with the color grey and linetype dashed. Creating drawings in this manner, makes your drawings very easy to manage. You can freeze and thaw, change colors and linetypes at will, without having to go through and pick each entity one at a time.

  3. #3
    Full Member shinymathew's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2006
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    bangalore, india
    Posts
    89

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    change, ch, chprop, these commands will help you to change the objects from one layer to another.
    "I THINK, THEREFORE I EXIST"

Similar Threads

  1. Drawing objects in a specific layer
    By Autodesk in forum AutoCAD RSS Feeds
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 14th Sep 2006, 03:30 am
  2. Macro to remove all layer filters and purge a drawing
    By corradophil in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 6th Jun 2006, 04:11 pm
  3. Lisp for moving objects from one layer to another
    By Yamma in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 24th Feb 2006, 10:25 am
  4. Moving Objects from One Layer to Another
    By TheRobster in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 16th Dec 2005, 05:35 pm
  5. Title Layer on my drawing
    By bfreeze in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 19th Jan 2005, 08:59 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts