+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2015
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Posts
    5

    Default Plotting - Grey prints as purple.

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Hi

    I am currently using Autocad 2015 LT in as a freelance in someones office. We tend to hatch our building outlines in grey solid but when we print the grey comes out as purple.

    I've been inside the network settings and adjust all sensible options but unfortunately it is still coming out as purple.

    I assume that the issue is with the plotting settings from the workstation but have limited fire fighting experience with plotting.

    Please help!

    Plotter is a Cannon IP760, i have plotted the same drawing from several workstations and altered the screening/ pen styles and in a different version of AutoCAD (2010) which leads me to think the issue is applied to the layout of the drawing of the plotter setting on the network.


    Any suggestions would be gratefully received

  2. #2
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,380

    Default

    Did you check the plot style that you are using to see if the normal grey color was overridden? What plot style is being used? Ex. - acad.ctb
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  3. #3
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2015
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Posts
    5

    Default

    Ive tried None, acad.cbt, 100% screening, 25% screening.

    i will try to see if it is overwritten now. fingers crossed.

  4. #4
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2015
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Posts
    5

    Default

    All seems fine. The layer settings is set to print colour 252 as 252 also.

  5. #5
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2015
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Posts
    5

    Default

    no change basically

  6. #6
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,380

    Default

    We have a Canon iPF760. I'd be willing to do a test print if you don't mind sharing the drawing. Don't need the whole drawing just enough to troubleshoot the problem. I assume you really do want this plotted in color is that correct?
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  7. #7
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2015
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Posts
    5

    Default

    perfect. how do i send you the file? here is my email

    Yes it will print in colour but unfortunately the grey is upside down
    Last edited by Wallisthfc; 13th Jan 2016 at 02:20 pm.

  8. #8
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,380

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    All we are interested in is getting the grey to plot in the correct color. It could be upside down and backwards for that matter.

    I just sent you an email. When it arrives you might want to edit out your email address in the above post.

    Update: Turns out the solid hatch used in the plan views was on a different layer and assigned a different shade of grey than that used in the elevation views. OP said he knew how to fix the problem.
    Last edited by ReMark; 13th Jan 2016 at 03:11 pm.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

Similar Threads

  1. Grey Lines When Plotting..
    By Undaground_King in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 13th Feb 2014, 12:42 pm
  2. black line is plotting grey
    By Openantics in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 3rd Dec 2012, 05:29 pm
  3. Grey lines when plotting to pdf...
    By Mason Dixon in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 26th Jan 2012, 03:14 pm
  4. Plotting with all black - Grey not showing!!
    By Ytsephill in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 6th Apr 2010, 12:18 am
  5. PLOTTING OF HATCHES OR GREY TONES?
    By Goat in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 28th Feb 2006, 09:37 pm

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts