+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 50
  1. #1
    Full Member
    Computer Details
    Caesium's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Motherboard:
    Asus Sabretooth X79
    CPU:
    Intel i7 3820 3.6GHz
    RAM:
    32.0 GB
    Graphics:
    Nvidia GeForce GTX 770
    Primary Storage:
    Samsung SSD 500GB
    Secondary Storage:
    Hitachi Ultrastar 1TB
    Monitor:
    Twin Dell S2740L
    Using
    AutoCAD 2016
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Posts
    25

    Default Need some help with scaling and filling paper space

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Hi all,

    I'm new to this as I am undertaking a self build extension and wanted to do my own drawings.

    I'm pretty much done with the drawing but when I set up the layout to A3 my drawing appears very small and I'm not sure how to make it fill the space.

    Also I need to add a scale and title block for the planners, something simple if anyone can help.

    Thank you all in advance.

    I have attached my drawing for you perusal.
    Attached Files

  2. #2
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,506

    Default

    And what scale were you planning on using? I'd recommend 1:50 (scale factor 1/50xp).

    Were you planning on adding a border? I think this would be a good idea.

    Were you planning on creating a layout for each of the three plan views? Definitely do this.

    Were you planning on adding any dimensions?
    Last edited by ReMark; 26th Jan 2016 at 07:15 pm.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  3. #3
    Full Member
    Computer Details
    Caesium's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Motherboard:
    Asus Sabretooth X79
    CPU:
    Intel i7 3820 3.6GHz
    RAM:
    32.0 GB
    Graphics:
    Nvidia GeForce GTX 770
    Primary Storage:
    Samsung SSD 500GB
    Secondary Storage:
    Hitachi Ultrastar 1TB
    Monitor:
    Twin Dell S2740L
    Using
    AutoCAD 2016
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Posts
    25

    Default

    Scale of 1:100 as I think that's the accepted standard.
    I was going to attempt to and a border and scale information as well as a title box.

    All three drawings on the same A3 page is what I anticipated as I have a separate drawing for the existing building.

  4. #4
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,506

    Default

    I think otherwise but you're the boss.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  5. #5
    Full Member
    Computer Details
    Caesium's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Motherboard:
    Asus Sabretooth X79
    CPU:
    Intel i7 3820 3.6GHz
    RAM:
    32.0 GB
    Graphics:
    Nvidia GeForce GTX 770
    Primary Storage:
    Samsung SSD 500GB
    Secondary Storage:
    Hitachi Ultrastar 1TB
    Monitor:
    Twin Dell S2740L
    Using
    AutoCAD 2016
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Posts
    25

    Default

    I'd welcome your opinion

  6. #6
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,506

    Default

    Your three plan views on one sheet at a scale of 1:100. I added a border (in blue). The pale magenta colored box is the viewport frame situated on its own layer (set to "no print") and display locked.

    MetricFlrPlan1.jpg

    How much AutoCAD experience do you have?
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  7. #7
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,506

    Default

    Another option is to put each plan view on its own sheet (one layout per view) like that shown below. Now you can use a scale of 1:50. Once again the pale magenta colored box is the viewport (no print - display locked).

    MetricFlrPlan2.jpg
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  8. #8
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,506

    Default

    Where did you go?

    Well I have to go off-site for a couple of hours. If you need further help you'll find plenty of other knowledgeable forum members to assist you. I'll try to check in on this thread if I get a chance. It must be just after 7 p.m. your time. Good luck.

    I checked back as promised but you seem to have taken off for parts unknown. Guess I'll go work on something else. Bye.
    Last edited by ReMark; 26th Jan 2016 at 10:37 pm.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  9. #9
    Full Member
    Computer Details
    Caesium's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Motherboard:
    Asus Sabretooth X79
    CPU:
    Intel i7 3820 3.6GHz
    RAM:
    32.0 GB
    Graphics:
    Nvidia GeForce GTX 770
    Primary Storage:
    Samsung SSD 500GB
    Secondary Storage:
    Hitachi Ultrastar 1TB
    Monitor:
    Twin Dell S2740L
    Using
    AutoCAD 2016
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Posts
    25

    Default

    Hi There, thanks for your efforts, I had been at work all day and if I sat at the screen much longer I'll go crazy.

    As for my AutoCAD experience, I have none except for the drawing you see before you.

    The reason for putting all three on one page is not for construction use, only for submission to planning dept. Was the drawing okay other than plotting it correctly on the paperspace?

    Sorry if my terminology is not up to scratch, I am not trained in AutoCAD, I'm a technical engineer for a telecoms company, not an architect

  10. #10
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,506

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    I reviewed your drawing strictly from the viewpoint of someone who works with AutoCAD on a daily basis. I can go back and take another look at the architectural aspect of it if you wish. From a CAD standpoint improvements could be made to the drawing but I take it that this is a "one off" and the likelihood of you doing any more drawings is small. Is that correct?

    Your planning department should have provided you with a "punch list" or sample drawing of what is required for submission. Didn't you receive anything from them? Some municipalities will post information online regarding what is required for a submission as well. Did you check?
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

Similar Threads

  1. Window scaling paper space
    By rubio_jose in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 1st Nov 2015, 01:34 pm
  2. Scaling in paper space
    By raley123 in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 7th Mar 2013, 07:01 am
  3. Paper Space Scaling
    By Buddy Love in forum AutoCAD 2D Drafting, Object Properties & Interface
    Replies: 25
    Last Post: 27th Feb 2013, 03:24 pm
  4. Scaling Malfunction In Paper Space
    By annjeweliette in forum AutoCAD Bugs, Error Messages & Quirks
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 7th Jul 2010, 12:17 am
  5. yet another paper space scaling question
    By raekwon in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: 24th May 2006, 09:20 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts