+ Reply to Thread
Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 50
  1. #11
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,379

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    I have some questions regarding your drawing from an architectural point of view.

    Ground floor

    -Why are the proposed external walls thicker than the existing external walls?
    -Are you actually going to remove/replace the back wall of the garage?
    -What are the two objects labeled "RL Over"? Are they skylights?
    -The utility room is quite large. What exactly will be located in this room?

    First floor
    -Why just one very large window in the bedroom?
    -You should probably show where the toilet, shower/bathtub, sink/vanity are going to be situated in the en suite.
    -Exterior wall thickeness?
    -How does one go from the ground floor to the first floor? I don't see a stairway.

    Roof plan
    -Could you explain what is going on with the roof? I'm not sure I understand.
    -What does the existing roof on the garage look like? Is it flat?

    Aren't you required to provide at least two elevations (front and side) in your submission?
    Last edited by ReMark; 27th Jan 2016 at 04:51 pm. Reason: roof not room
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  2. #12
    Full Member
    Computer Details
    Caesium's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Motherboard:
    Asus Sabretooth X79
    CPU:
    Intel i7 3820 3.6GHz
    RAM:
    32.0 GB
    Graphics:
    Nvidia GeForce GTX 770
    Primary Storage:
    Samsung SSD 500GB
    Secondary Storage:
    Hitachi Ultrastar 1TB
    Monitor:
    Twin Dell S2740L
    Using
    AutoCAD 2016
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Posts
    25

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ReMark View Post
    I have some questions regarding your drawing from an architectural point of view.

    Ground floor

    -Why are the proposed external walls thicker than the existing external walls? Building code dictates that 100mm leaf with 100mm insulation then 100mm leaf hence the thickness. Existing house built before legislation introduced.
    -Are you actually going to remove/replace the back wall of the garage? There is a steel beam over the back of the garage to support the elevation above, Exisitng wall will just be plastered when it's inside.
    -What are the two objects labeled "RL Over"? Are they skylights? Yep
    -The utility room is quite large. What exactly will be located in this room? I am thinking about sub dividing this room and having a gym in the other half

    First floor
    -Why just one very large window in the bedroom? To match existing front window in main house, the side will overlook another property and probably will not be able to have any fenestration.
    -You should probably show where the toilet, shower/bathtub, sink/vanity are going to be situated in the en suite. Yes I can do this, thought about leaving that for now as the planners don't require it and it would be added to construction drawings.
    -Exterior wall thickeness? 300mm
    -How does one go from the ground floor to the first floor? I don't see a stairway. Still need to add this

    Roof plan
    -Could you explain what is going on with the roof? I'm not sure I understand.
    -What does the existing room on the garage look like? Is it flat? Yes

    Aren't you required to provide at least two elevations (front and side) in your submission?
    I have a few more things to add to the drawing, it just struck me that I might ask for advice before committing any more time to finishing the drawing if I couldn't print it due to a formatting error.

    if I'd made some catastrophic mistake in the scale and had to draw it all over again I'd be miffed so thought I'd ask the question before committing any more time, that's all.

    Here's some sketchups I thought I could use as elevations








  3. #13
    Full Member
    Computer Details
    Caesium's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Motherboard:
    Asus Sabretooth X79
    CPU:
    Intel i7 3820 3.6GHz
    RAM:
    32.0 GB
    Graphics:
    Nvidia GeForce GTX 770
    Primary Storage:
    Samsung SSD 500GB
    Secondary Storage:
    Hitachi Ultrastar 1TB
    Monitor:
    Twin Dell S2740L
    Using
    AutoCAD 2016
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Posts
    25

    Default

    I have replied but it's awaiting admin permission to post?

  4. #14
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,379

    Default

    Not sure why that would be. Did you post banned images or use swear words? LoL
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  5. #15
    Super Moderator Cad64's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Cad64's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Profesional x64
    Computer:
    XI Computers
    Motherboard:
    Asus P8Z77-V Pro
    CPU:
    Intel Core I7 3770K 4.1 Ghz Quad Core 3rd Gen
    RAM:
    24GB DDR3 @ 1333MHz
    Graphics:
    Nvidia GeForce GTX 570 1280MB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    SATAII 500GB 7200 RPM
    Secondary Storage:
    Western Digital My Book Studio Edition II - 2TB capacity
    Monitor:
    HPf2105 21" LCD Widescreen & Cintiq 21ux
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Cad64's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Freelance Digital Artist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    3D model building, texturing and rendering. Photoshop Color Graphics.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    10,142

    Default

    No, he posted his images through an external file host instead of uploading them to the forum.

    Post #12 is now approved.

    Information for new members: http://www.cadtutor.net/forum/showth...or-new-members
    CGSociety Portfolio: http://rdeweese.cgsociety.org/
    Facebook:
    https://www.facebook.com/rdeweese67/


    "Work Smart, Not Hard"

  6. #16
    Full Member
    Computer Details
    Caesium's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Motherboard:
    Asus Sabretooth X79
    CPU:
    Intel i7 3820 3.6GHz
    RAM:
    32.0 GB
    Graphics:
    Nvidia GeForce GTX 770
    Primary Storage:
    Samsung SSD 500GB
    Secondary Storage:
    Hitachi Ultrastar 1TB
    Monitor:
    Twin Dell S2740L
    Using
    AutoCAD 2016
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Posts
    25

    Default

    Wasn't sure we could upload, I saw attachments and they're different beasts. Not many forums allow embedded local images.

    Every day is a school day eh.

  7. #17
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,379

    Default

    Thanks for the images and for answering my questions.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  8. #18
    Full Member
    Computer Details
    Caesium's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Motherboard:
    Asus Sabretooth X79
    CPU:
    Intel i7 3820 3.6GHz
    RAM:
    32.0 GB
    Graphics:
    Nvidia GeForce GTX 770
    Primary Storage:
    Samsung SSD 500GB
    Secondary Storage:
    Hitachi Ultrastar 1TB
    Monitor:
    Twin Dell S2740L
    Using
    AutoCAD 2016
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Posts
    25

    Default

    Does it make sense?

  9. #19
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,379

    Default

    For the most part it does. What type of insulation is being used in the exterior walls? I'll be curious as to what the addition of the stairway will do to the overall interior design.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  10. #20
    Full Member
    Computer Details
    Caesium's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Motherboard:
    Asus Sabretooth X79
    CPU:
    Intel i7 3820 3.6GHz
    RAM:
    32.0 GB
    Graphics:
    Nvidia GeForce GTX 770
    Primary Storage:
    Samsung SSD 500GB
    Secondary Storage:
    Hitachi Ultrastar 1TB
    Monitor:
    Twin Dell S2740L
    Using
    AutoCAD 2016
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Posts
    25

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    100mm celotex most likely.

Similar Threads

  1. Window scaling paper space
    By rubio_jose in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 1st Nov 2015, 01:34 pm
  2. Scaling in paper space
    By raley123 in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 7th Mar 2013, 07:01 am
  3. Paper Space Scaling
    By Buddy Love in forum AutoCAD 2D Drafting, Object Properties & Interface
    Replies: 25
    Last Post: 27th Feb 2013, 03:24 pm
  4. Scaling Malfunction In Paper Space
    By annjeweliette in forum AutoCAD Bugs, Error Messages & Quirks
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 7th Jul 2010, 12:17 am
  5. yet another paper space scaling question
    By raekwon in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: 24th May 2006, 09:20 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts