LISP Code to Extend Line

florida35

Hi all,

I am new to creating lisp routines and am hoping to get some help on a routine I need. I am looking for a command that prompts you to draw a line, then prompts you to extend a line, and then deletes the initial line. I used to work at a company that had this command and it was very useful. Instead of creating a polyline, performing the extend command, and then deleting the polyline, it did all of it in one command. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

Jim

Welcome to CADTutor

There are a lot of ways to approach this

This would be my starting point :

[b][color=BLACK]([/color][/b]defun c:eline [b][color=FUCHSIA]([/color][/b]/ sp ep e1 e2 p1 ip[b][color=FUCHSIA])[/color][/b]

[b][color=FUCHSIA]([/color][/b]initget 1[b][color=FUCHSIA])[/color][/b]
 [b][color=FUCHSIA]([/color][/b]setq sp [b][color=NAVY]([/color][/b]getpoint [color=#2f4f4f]"\nStart Point:   "[/color][b][color=NAVY])[/color][/b][b][color=FUCHSIA])[/color][/b]
 [b][color=FUCHSIA]([/color][/b]setq ep [b][color=NAVY]([/color][/b]getpoint sp [color=#2f4f4f]"\nEnd Point:   "[/color][b][color=NAVY])[/color][/b][b][color=FUCHSIA])[/color][/b]
 [b][color=FUCHSIA]([/color][/b]grdraw sp ep 2 0[b][color=FUCHSIA])[/color][/b]

[b][color=FUCHSIA]([/color][/b]setq e1 [b][color=NAVY]([/color][/b]getpoint [color=#2f4f4f]"\nExtention Line Point 1:   "[/color][b][color=NAVY])[/color][/b][b][color=FUCHSIA])[/color][/b]
 [b][color=FUCHSIA]([/color][/b]setq e2 [b][color=NAVY]([/color][/b]getpoint e1 [color=#2f4f4f]"\nExtention Line Point 2:   "[/color][b][color=NAVY])[/color][/b][b][color=FUCHSIA])[/color][/b]

[b][color=FUCHSIA]([/color][/b]if [b][color=NAVY]([/color][/b]not [b][color=MAROON]([/color][/b]setq ip [b][color=GREEN]([/color][/b]inters sp ep e1 e2 nil[b][color=GREEN])[/color][/b][b][color=MAROON])[/color][/b][b][color=NAVY])[/color][/b]
     [b][color=NAVY]([/color][/b]alert [color=#2f4f4f]"These Lines Do Not Intersect"[/color][b][color=NAVY])[/color][/b]