How to scale a drawing in the begining

hreidarh

Hello,

I am new in using Autocad and my first problem is this, when I open a empty drawing and draw a line "L spacebar 100 enter" then I get almost invisible line because it is so short on the screen, to see it I must zoom in very mutch, If I draw a short line with the mouse and check the length of it then I get a number of 12 digits like "125214572145" If I on the other hand open up a ready made drawing and add a line there with the command "L spasebar 100 enter" then I get a visible line, my question is how can I scale my drawing so what I draw in the screen will be visible.

Regards

Hreiðar

The one thing you do not want to do is to "draw to scale" like one might do if their were creating a drawing on a drafting board.

I'll take a wild guess here and say you probably want to be using metric units but there is a chance you started a new drawing using an imperial template which utilizes, as a default, decimal inches.

Everything you draw in model space no matter if it is the size of a postage stamp or the size of the Great Wall of China should be drawn at FULL size and not scaled.

Have you had any AutoCAD training?

Have you looked at any of the tutorials here at CADTutor or at another website such as mycadsite.com?

The command LIMITS can help as it sets a working area if you know roughly the size of your objects to draw, say its a 100 units then limits 0,0 200,200.

The do a Zoom A it should reflect this size now, a good idea is to save this dwg for future use. Look up using a template DWT.

EDIT: I did not see the 3 hour old responses from AL and Re up yet. What gives with that?

You do not scale in the beginning. Never scale ANYTHING in modelspace.