Can't display dimensions

I am doing a 2d floor plan in model space.

I am totally new to Autocad and are using 2016 version.

I have learned everything by watching Youtube videos.

I have completed my drawing and am attempting to put in dimensions. When I try using the Dimcommand, I click on one corner of line, go to opposite corner of line and extend and only 2 line extensions from the corners appear with a line spanning between these 2 line extensions. There are no arrows or dimensions displayed. Can some one please tell me where I have made an error. Is it in the way that I set up the model or in scaling. Tried everything I can think of and am lost. Please help>

I have noticed my problem is that the arrows and dimesions are very small and I have to zoom in on then quite a lot. How do I correct this issue?

Also my dimensions show in inches rather than feet and inches. Units are set in inches. I did set limits when I set the initial start of the model. I don't know if that plays a factor in this.

My annotation is set to 3/16"- 1"0.

Hi Reebs,

You can change the size of the arrows and text through the dim style command - type "dims" in the command bar and then select modify.

Instead of changing each individual size of the arrow heads, text size and offsets etc, you could also just change the scale of the dimension which is also found in the dim style option.

I'm pretty new here also, so not sure if its the most efficient way but it works for me. Hope it helps :)

Thx Stevery

Ok I did manage to get the arrows and text dimensions to appear but still am getting total inches as opposed to feet and inches. Any thoughts.

I don't have access to my Autocad right now but I believe you can change this in the properties menu. Click on the dimensions and type properties in the command bar then scroll through to see if there something there that might change it for you.

Thx Solved problem inproperties