+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Posts
    1

    Unhappy plotting to pdf not accurate

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    hello I'm quite new to autocad but I'm slowly learning, anyway I know enough to make a floorplan and etc. The problem is when I plot it to pdf, I know you have to set up the viewport and page set up manager and all the basic stuff. I've done all of that already but when I plot it to pdf at actual size it's always off by like .5 cm ( I use a 1:100 scale) I measure on screen with a triangular scale.

    I've always had this problem and I thought that it was either my pdf viewer (at 1st I was using mozilla's) so I switched to nitro reader, but nothing was happening it was still not accurate. (also if you ask why I don't use acrobat reader, it's because whenever I try to install it on my desktop all my icons become pdf files and won't open anymore) please help me, It's so frustrating not having accurate dimensions. by the way I use autocad 2013 version.

  2. #2
    Luminous Being
    Using
    Civil 3D 2016
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    GEELONG AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    9,892

    Default

    measure on screen
    Press the magic buttons for you screen size and it will then work ! You can not measure of the screen.

    If you have plotted onto paper and the scale is wrong I would bet its because you have done a "fit" as the plot method. You need to use actual size, a check of our pdfs and we would be lucky to be 1-2mm wrong on a A1 plot.
    A man who never made mistakes never made anything

  3. #3
    Luminous Being RobDraw's Avatar
    Using
    MEP 2017
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Connecticut, USA
    Posts
    5,169

    Default

    The last time I put a scale to a screen, it was a CRT. I wasn't taking actual measurements. That was my way of doing reference scaling.
    Drafting is a breeze.

  4. #4
    Super Moderator rkmcswain's Avatar
    Computer Details
    rkmcswain's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro x64
    Computer:
    HP ZBook 17
    CPU:
    i7-4810MQ @ 2.80 GHZ
    RAM:
    16GB
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quadro K4100M
    Primary Storage:
    256GB SSD
    Secondary Storage:
    1TB SATA
    Monitor:
    (2) HP 23"
    Discipline
    Civil
    rkmcswain's Discipline Details
    Discipline
    Civil
    Details
    CAD Manager
    Using
    Civil 3D 2017
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Houston
    Posts
    4,455

    Default

    Thousands, if not hundreds of thousands of AutoCAD users have been printing to PDF just fine for years.
    If there was a scaling issue, it would be common knowledge.

    You are making a mistake at some point in the process, either while printing from AutoCAD to PDF, or in the process of printing the PDF to Paper.
    R.K. McSwain
    CAD Panacea | twitter

  5. #5
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,504

    Default

    Attach a copy of the drawing to your next post so we can take a look at it ourselves. Perhaps someone will even attempt to plot it to PDF.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  6. #6
    Luminous Being RobDraw's Avatar
    Using
    MEP 2017
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Connecticut, USA
    Posts
    5,169

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ddddsss View Post
    I measure on screen with a triangular scale.
    It looks like BIGAL was the only other one to catch this, even though it was mentioned in both responses. This is not a way to verify accuracy of a PDF.
    Drafting is a breeze.

  7. #7
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,504

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    I saw it and just laughed.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

Similar Threads

  1. Accurate involute.
    By Lurking in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 1st Dec 2012, 12:02 am
  2. accurate sketch up dimensions?
    By The_Cad_Kid in forum SketchUp
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 26th Dec 2009, 04:51 am
  3. How accurate
    By grain in forum SketchUp
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 7th May 2009, 01:07 pm
  4. is more accurate angle precision possible?
    By NoelStalker in forum AutoCAD 2D Drafting, Object Properties & Interface
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 6th Apr 2009, 05:29 pm
  5. How to extend arc in accurate length from end point
    By rengised in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 13th Oct 2008, 08:12 am

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts