+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Forum Newbie
    Computer Details
    bend's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Discipline
    Surveying
    bend's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Surveyor
    Discipline
    Surveying
    Using
    AutoCAD 2017
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Location
    Aus
    Posts
    8

    Default Hatch Poly Lines in a particular layer

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Hi,

    I am trying to get some advice on the best way to hatch multiply poly lines in any particular layer.

    I do not want to manually hatch each poly lines as there are dozens in multi files and was hoping to get some help with a simple script.

    I have attached an example of what I will be working with the layer I wish to hatch is 1129.

    Any help would be greatly appreciated.

    Cheers bend
    Attached Files

  2. #2
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,375

    Default

    One way would be to isolate the layer (1129) then hatch all the closed polylines. A second option would be to use a custom lisp routine but you would have to supply some further information such as the name, scale and angle of the hatch pattern you wanted to use.

    Question. Are you also hatching areas where the closed polylines overlap each other?
    Last edited by ReMark; 15th Mar 2016 at 12:05 pm.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  3. #3
    Forum Newbie
    Computer Details
    bend's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Discipline
    Surveying
    bend's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Surveyor
    Discipline
    Surveying
    Using
    AutoCAD 2017
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Location
    Aus
    Posts
    8

    Default

    Yes in some cases the hatch will overlap.

    The hatch is "cross" scale is "0" and angle is "0". The lisp routine was what I was thinking due to the large number of files.

    bend

  4. #4
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,375

    Default

    Scale of "0"? No way.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  5. #5
    Forum Newbie
    Computer Details
    bend's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Discipline
    Surveying
    bend's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Surveyor
    Discipline
    Surveying
    Using
    AutoCAD 2017
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Location
    Aus
    Posts
    8

    Default

    Scale "10"

    missed a 1

    bend

  6. #6
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,375

    Default

    That sounds a lot better.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  7. #7
    Forum Newbie
    Computer Details
    bend's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Discipline
    Surveying
    bend's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Surveyor
    Discipline
    Surveying
    Using
    AutoCAD 2017
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Location
    Aus
    Posts
    8

    Default

    Hey mate,

    just seeing if you had any more thoughts with this.

    bend

  8. #8
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,375

    Default

    Not recently as I have been busy helping another member with a 3D model problem. I would have thought by now that one of the lisp gurus would step in with a nifty routine that would solve your problem. I found one myself, elsewhere, but for some strange reason it refused to work on your geometry but would work on geometry I created.

    I think I figured out why the routine I tried did not work on your drawing. It appears the drawing does not use normal polylines but instead uses 3Dpolylines (at different elevations with differing vertex 'Z' values). BIG difference! I think that is something you should have told us right from the beginning don't you? I don't think you will be able to hatch these objects in the way that you want.
    Last edited by ReMark; 24th Mar 2016 at 11:38 am.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  9. #9
    Forum Newbie
    Computer Details
    bend's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Discipline
    Surveying
    bend's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Surveyor
    Discipline
    Surveying
    Using
    AutoCAD 2017
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Location
    Aus
    Posts
    8

    Default

    Thanks for looking at it. The data is a bulk export I have done through another software package and if I had known it would cause such a BIG issue I would have allowed for it. This being considered is there any chance I could have a look at the routine you found.

    Within the original files I can write something that will average the RL and flatten all the corresponding poly lines.

  10. #10
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,375

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Search on the following criteria and you'll find everything I did.

    "autocad"+"hatch"+"layer"+"lisp"
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

Similar Threads

  1. Subdividing height lines between two (poly)lines
    By TheDude in forum AutoCAD 2D Drafting, Object Properties & Interface
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 5th Sep 2015, 02:29 am
  2. Poly lines
    By skenderbender17 in forum AutoCAD 2D Drafting, Object Properties & Interface
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 11th Oct 2012, 03:51 pm
  3. Poly lines
    By skenderbender17 in forum AutoCAD 2D Drafting, Object Properties & Interface
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 21st Sep 2011, 09:32 pm
  4. Use color faces, hatch or poly face mesh?
    By fitterhans in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 19th Jun 2008, 01:45 pm
  5. 3d (poly)lines with width
    By nasko in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 16th May 2005, 06:20 pm

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts