+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 24
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Posts
    16

    Default Line's First Point Not Attaching

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    03-26-2016 04:58 PM Hello,

    I'm doing a project for school and here are the starting directions:

    "The point of beginning (POB) of this survey is measured
    from BM#8332. This benchmark is located at the northeast
    corner of the intersection of SW Washington Street and
    SW Oleson Road. The coordinates for the benchmark are
    1421334.93,783207.62. The first point in the survey for
    Oleson Village (the POB) is 113.66 feet from the benchmark
    and at a bearing of N5‹2723W. Note the general location of
    these points in Figure 2."

    So here's my issue. I'm trying to draw a line from the benchmark of "1421334.93,783207.62", but the line won't stick to that first point. If I start a line at 1,1, it will stick. If I start a line at 1000,1000, it will stick. Even if I knock off the last digit of each number before the decimal point "142133.93,78320.62", it will stick. Why is this? My limits are set to 2000000,2000000. I'm lost. This is scary becasue I havn't even started the project yet and I've spent 2 hours trying to figure this out. Any help would be much appreciated!

    Thanks in advance.

    PS. I attached the project.

    R,
    James
    Attached Files

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Posts
    16

    Default

    .....or it is sticking but it's very far North East which I can't even navigate to. Why would it be so far away? Is there a setting that I have wrong?

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Posts
    16

    Default

    Ok, I figured out I can zoom all and now I can see where's the line is attached. Then I put the next point in but it won't attach the line. Here is what I put @113.66'<n5d27'23"w



    Any thoughts?

  4. #4
    Luminous Being
    Using
    Civil 3D 2016
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    GEELONG AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    9,902

    Default

    I work metric and full circle for bearings but that said Units need to be feet set "Engineering" and Angle "Surveyors units" there are other here who work in feet and will correct my attempt, but I got a line.

    a little trick copy the two lines below to the command line press enter after e
    line 142133.93,78320.62
    @113.66'<n5d27'23"w Z E
    A man who never made mistakes never made anything

  5. #5
    Super Moderator Cad64's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Cad64's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Profesional x64
    Computer:
    XI Computers
    Motherboard:
    Asus P8Z77-V Pro
    CPU:
    Intel Core I7 3770K 4.1 Ghz Quad Core 3rd Gen
    RAM:
    24GB DDR3 @ 1333MHz
    Graphics:
    Nvidia GeForce GTX 570 1280MB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    SATAII 500GB 7200 RPM
    Secondary Storage:
    Western Digital My Book Studio Edition II - 2TB capacity
    Monitor:
    HPf2105 21" LCD Widescreen & Cintiq 21ux
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Cad64's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Freelance Digital Artist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    3D model building, texturing and rendering. Photoshop Color Graphics.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    10,176

    Default

    I have moved your question to the Student Project sub forum: http://www.cadtutor.net/forum/forumd...ject-Questions

    You may be interested in this thread which answers a lot of the questions that many students have about this Oleson Village project: http://www.cadtutor.net/forum/showth...on-Village-Map!!!
    CGSociety Portfolio: http://rdeweese.cgsociety.org/
    Facebook:
    https://www.facebook.com/rdeweese67/


    "Work Smart, Not Hard"

  6. #6
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,506

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by spillerz View Post
    .....or it is sticking but it's very far North East which I can't even navigate to. Why would it be so far away? Is there a setting that I have wrong?
    That's the way Penn-Foster elected to set up the project which in my opinion was totally unnecessary. I addressed this issue in one of my many posts about the Oleson Village project. To see your point you'll have to do a Zoom > Window around the northeast end of the line that extends from 0,0,0 to your point. BTW...I hope you know how to enable and use OSnaps as their use will result in a more accurate drawing.

    Here is a link to one of the threads I would recommend that concerns this particular project.

    http://www.cadtutor.net/forum/showth...on-Village-Map!!!
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Posts
    16

    Default

    That didn't work but I appreciate the reply.


    Quote Originally Posted by BIGAL View Post
    I work metric and full circle for bearings but that said Units need to be feet set "Engineering" and Angle "Surveyors units" there are other here who work in feet and will correct my attempt, but I got a line.

    a little trick copy the two lines below to the command line press enter after e
    line 142133.93,78320.62
    @113.66'<n5d27'23"w Z E

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Posts
    16

    Default

    Thank you!


    Quote Originally Posted by Cad64 View Post
    I have moved your question to the Student Project sub forum: http://www.cadtutor.net/forum/forumd...ject-Questions

    You may be interested in this thread which answers a lot of the questions that many students have about this Oleson Village project: http://www.cadtutor.net/forum/showth...on-Village-Map!!!

  9. #9
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,506

    Default

    What exactly are you referring to that did not work?

    Did you see the link I posted?
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  10. #10
    Junior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Posts
    16

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Thank you Remark! I had seen a bunch of threads on this project but didn't see yours. I'll head over to your other post now. Hopefully that will solve all my problems and you guys won't have to hear back from me again lol


    Thanks again for taking the time out of your schedule to help us newbies. It's definitely appreciated!


    Quote Originally Posted by ReMark View Post
    That's the way Penn-Foster elected to set up the project which in my opinion was totally unnecessary. I addressed this issue in one of my many posts about the Oleson Village project. To see your point you'll have to do a Zoom > Window around the northeast end of the line that extends from 0,0,0 to your point. BTW...I hope you know how to enable and use OSnaps as their use will result in a more accurate drawing.

    Here is a link to one of the threads I would recommend that concerns this particular project.

    http://www.cadtutor.net/forum/showth...on-Village-Map!!!

Similar Threads

  1. Nearest point to a line from a point
    By wimal in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 25
    Last Post: 1st Nov 2015, 01:50 pm
  2. Aligning a line between a point and another line
    By smstoankur in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 23rd Nov 2011, 09:03 am
  3. Replies: 10
    Last Post: 9th Jun 2011, 04:57 pm
  4. Making a line command loop from point to point
    By harrison-matt in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2nd Oct 2010, 01:41 pm
  5. Attaching Objects, Attaching Vertex, Cutting holes
    By evanesp26 in forum 3D Modelling
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 8th Feb 2010, 07:50 am

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts