+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Full Member
    Computer Details
    Scoobydoo's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro
    Computer:
    Dell Precision T5500
    CPU:
    Intel XEON E5620 2.40 GHz
    RAM:
    6 GB
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA Quadro FX 3800
    Primary Storage:
    250GB
    Monitor:
    Dell 24" LCD
    Discipline
    Utilities
    Scoobydoo's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Electrical Utility
    Discipline
    Utilities
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Southeast Arizona
    Posts
    68

    Default CAD Standards for Electric Utilities

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    I am looking for CAD Standards applicable to the electric utility industry. I have wrote a CAD Standard for our company that we are currently using, but it is going to expand quite a bit and I am just wanting to see how/what other electric utility companies are doing to see if there is anything I can change on our end from a CAD Standards/Management viewpoint.
    Thanks in advance!

  2. #2
    Super Member Murph_map's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Murph_map's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Win 7, Win 8
    Computer:
    HP something or other and the laptop is an HP too
    RAM:
    2 gigs or 6 gigs in Laptop
    Discipline
    Utilities
    Murph_map's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Boats and campers renting and repairs
    Discipline
    Utilities
    Details
    GIS and Map making.
    Using
    Map 3D 2016
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    TN or KY depends if I'm at work or home.
    Posts
    920

    Default

    I worked for an Electric co-op for 10 years and work 5 years with a reseller supporting electric utilities with AutoCAD, AutoCAD Map3D and AutoCAD Utility Design. Over those 15 years the only thing I saw standard was the symbol for poles on the map, everyone used a filled in circle black in color. Are you using vanilla AutoCAD or Map3D or any other GIS type software?
    Murph

    Need a boat or camper for the weekend?

  3. #3
    Full Member
    Computer Details
    Scoobydoo's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro
    Computer:
    Dell Precision T5500
    CPU:
    Intel XEON E5620 2.40 GHz
    RAM:
    6 GB
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA Quadro FX 3800
    Primary Storage:
    250GB
    Monitor:
    Dell 24" LCD
    Discipline
    Utilities
    Scoobydoo's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Electrical Utility
    Discipline
    Utilities
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Southeast Arizona
    Posts
    68

    Default

    Thank you for your response. I am also working for an electric co-op (8 years now & 14 years on the low voltage side for electrical consulting firms) and have seen many CAD Standards over the years but the folks here didn't know what a CAD Standard was until I started here. We are using StakeOut (soon to be WorkStudio) for our staking program, ArcMap 10.1, GOSync Mapbook, and for AutoCAD, we are using AutoCAD C3D 2015 & 2016. I have created all the CAD blocks & details for the subdivision jobs, titleblocks, templates, tool palettes, text styles, dimension styles, pen tables, etc. I was just curious if there was anything out there from an electric utility that may/may not point me in the right direction as far as an "industry" standard was concerned.

  4. #4
    Super Member Tyke's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Tyke's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 - 64 bit, W8 + W8.1 Vista
    Computer:
    HP Z400 Workstation
    CPU:
    Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU W3530 @ 2.80GHz
    RAM:
    8 GB
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quadro 600 1GB DDR3
    Primary Storage:
    2x 500GB HDD RAID 1 and Western Digital 2TB NAS RAID 1
    Secondary Storage:
    Lacie external HDD 2TB Raid Level 1
    Monitor:
    Samsung SyncMaster P2770HD, 2443 and 193T
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Tyke's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Surveyor, programmer, civil engineer
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Surveying and civil engineering. As built utilities surveys and data maintenance in GIS systems. Building surveys, measured and laser scanning. Setting out of all civil works. Control and settlement surveys. Programming in AutoCAD, MicroStation, Geograf and stand alone applications for all uses.
    Using
    Civil 3D 2014
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Saxony, Germany
    Posts
    1,397

    Default

    I worked for very many years, in various companies, for utilities companies both here in Germany and formerly in the UK and can only agree with what Murph said. They all had CAD/drawing standards but no two were the same. Symbols, line-styles, colours, layering and many other things were all different. Whilst most used AutoCAD several other CAD systems were also used. We used to attach XData to objects and store information such as cable type and size, pole number, erection date, etc. This was later exported to various GIS systems.

    If you can't find any official industry standards I would suggest you trying to get hold of examples from other utility companies and pick what in your own opinion is the best from each.
    Engage brain before mouth

    "The German who types with a Yorkshire accent" - Dave Broada 2o1o

  5. #5
    Super Member Murph_map's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Murph_map's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Win 7, Win 8
    Computer:
    HP something or other and the laptop is an HP too
    RAM:
    2 gigs or 6 gigs in Laptop
    Discipline
    Utilities
    Murph_map's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Boats and campers renting and repairs
    Discipline
    Utilities
    Details
    GIS and Map making.
    Using
    Map 3D 2016
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    TN or KY depends if I'm at work or home.
    Posts
    920

    Default

    We used to use some of the standards from the old REA agency which is now RUS http://www.rd.usda.gov/about-rd/agen...lities-service
    Murph

    Need a boat or camper for the weekend?

  6. #6
    Full Member
    Computer Details
    Scoobydoo's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro
    Computer:
    Dell Precision T5500
    CPU:
    Intel XEON E5620 2.40 GHz
    RAM:
    6 GB
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA Quadro FX 3800
    Primary Storage:
    250GB
    Monitor:
    Dell 24" LCD
    Discipline
    Utilities
    Scoobydoo's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Electrical Utility
    Discipline
    Utilities
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Southeast Arizona
    Posts
    68

    Default

    Our cooperative is not funded by RUS but we do follow most of their guidelines. Our overhead, underground, and subtransmission specs mostly follow RUS. It just seems like quite a bit of our overhead projects usually don't require CAD drawings, but our underground and some transmission projects do because often we have contractors that do the work. Usually what we do is we georeference the CAD background (that we receive from the consultant) to ArcMap so that the background is tied to our coordinate system. Once we georeference the file, then we work on our CAD design and it makes it alot easier to export the information back into our mapping system. Like Tyke has suggested, I may get in touch with one of our sister cooperatives and see if they have a CAD Standard that they are using that they would be willing to share. What I am interested in seeing is how templates are setup, handling consultant files that are received, layer naming convention, text styles, etc., just basic CAD info. I am revising our CAD Standard now that we will push out to all departments within the company and not just the Line Design group.

  7. #7
    Super Member Murph_map's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Murph_map's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Win 7, Win 8
    Computer:
    HP something or other and the laptop is an HP too
    RAM:
    2 gigs or 6 gigs in Laptop
    Discipline
    Utilities
    Murph_map's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Boats and campers renting and repairs
    Discipline
    Utilities
    Details
    GIS and Map making.
    Using
    Map 3D 2016
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    TN or KY depends if I'm at work or home.
    Posts
    920

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Good luck hope you have better luck than I did. I would get one engineer to go along, another would not want the change. SCADA would be behind me but management didn't know what I was wanting to do. They finally decide to go with ESRI software and contract to map/GPS everything out again, and that wasn't cheap for 80,000 miles of line.
    Murph

    Need a boat or camper for the weekend?

Similar Threads

  1. How to draw a 3D electric motor
    By engwizard in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 1st Jun 2011, 02:01 pm
  2. How an electric vehicle works?
    By arshavin23 in forum Catch All
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 23rd Mar 2010, 07:00 pm
  3. electric motor
    By TonyBorland in forum Autodesk Inventor
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 21st Feb 2010, 10:15 pm
  4. Electric truck engineering ideas
    By Unmentioned in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 13th Jan 2010, 01:12 am

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts