Organizing a project

davekb

I'll start off by admitting that this is probably answered somewhere, but is hard to find. Maybe I'm not using the right words to find it. I don't post questions but this is baffling me.

Anyways, I'm new to handling large projects in AutoCAD and am trying to create a system that works.

I believe that my largest issue is that organization is not a strong point for me.

Point to a filing cabinet and tell me to create a system, and I won't know where to start. I just try to deal with everything at once.

So, from the ground up:

I've started creating a large utility based project. I have a city map, utility poles and the equipment to go there.

It's easy to just create a bunch of layers and go when there's one person, but now there's several of us working on this project.

I'm trying to get organised such that I have a long term system, and something for this particular project.

To give an example, this project has 3 phases and around 15 major sections in the first phase (a section being a road or a building, either way a major event).

From how I understand things, I believe I want to create a master DWG with the roads and other permanent fixtures, then an individual DWG for each building install or roadside install. From there, tie it all together with the sheet set manager.

I believe the individual sections would XREF the master DWG, then there would be layouts for each section.

What I've currently got, is everything in a single DWG and no templates, no file structure.

How would I best sort this all out so that someone else can work on their section as well?

Is this an issue of file management?

eg: on the computer, I would have a file for this particular project, what all would I keep in that folder? What would be in a separate folder for later projects?

Master Folder

• AutoCAD Settings/
    **Blocks/
    **Templates/
    **Plot Styles/
  • Project1/
    **Sheet Set
    **DWGs

Is there a better way?