+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Using
    Architecture 2013
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    123

    Default Stairs and global cut plane

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Hello all,

    I have a simple case of stairs on first floor.Stairs Elevation = 0.

    Cut planed are configured to: 170 cm above first floor (for level 0.00) and 170 cm above second floor. In other words first cut plane is set to 170 and second to 470.

    When I display first floor and set the global cut plane to first cut plane (=170) Autocad displays the entire stairs as there is not cut (instead of showing a cut).

    When I set the global cut plane to second level the stairs are displayed as there is a cut (instead of showing no cut).


    The only solution I could find so far is using "Override display configuration cut plane" but this is not a good solution as I am using same stairs for both floors.

    Thanks for your help

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Using
    Architecture 2013
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    123

    Default

    Can any one help here? Thanks.

  3. #3
    Luminous Being tzframpton's Avatar
    Computer Details
    tzframpton's Computer Details
    Computer:
    HP Zbook
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    tzframpton's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    BIM Specialist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Full Virtual Design and Construction BIM services for the MEP engineering and construction industries.
    Using
    Revit 2018
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Dallas, TX - USA
    Posts
    9,048

    Default

    Not a lot of AutoCAD Architecture support on this forum, sorry.
    Tannar Z. Frampton ™ | Frampton & Associates, Inc.

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Using
    Architecture 2013
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    123

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    I think that I have just found a bug in Autocad (2013).

    When the Height of the stairs equals to the absolute value of the elevation and the elevation of the stairs is negative (e.g. the height of the stairs is 295 and the elevation is -295) then the cut plane is not displayed (e.g. if the global cut plane is -120).

    If I change the elevation to -296 then the cut plane is displayed. THIS IS A BUG.

Similar Threads

  1. Rotate UCS so that the Y = 0 plane becomes the ground plane?
    By crystalfarquhar in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 29th Sep 2014, 04:30 pm
  2. Plane at an angle to plane through axis
    By KarolR in forum Autodesk Inventor
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 14th Jul 2013, 11:47 am
  3. [Help] I'm finding lisp copy from XZ plane to XY Plane
    By ketxu in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 10th Oct 2011, 10:48 am
  4. Stairs Architect Desktop - Landing Half Way Through Stairs
    By mattbarb in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 20th Apr 2008, 01:52 pm
  5. Drawing stairs from the xy-plane
    By Siberian in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2nd Jan 2007, 02:43 am

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts