+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Full Member GISdude's Avatar
    Discipline
    Electrical
    GISdude's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Substation Drafter
    Discipline
    Electrical
    Using
    Civil 3D 2012
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Sac, CA
    Posts
    36

    Default Select every line in drawing and convert to polyline

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Hi all,
    I thought there might be an intuitive/simple way to do this. I've tried the lisp routine SSX, BUT when you run the routine you can't "keep" the selection to use the PEDIT command.

    Is there something I'm missing here?

  2. #2
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,496

    Default

    PEDIT > Multiple > All doesn't do it for you?
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  3. #3
    Full Member GISdude's Avatar
    Discipline
    Electrical
    GISdude's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Substation Drafter
    Discipline
    Electrical
    Using
    Civil 3D 2012
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Sac, CA
    Posts
    36

    Default

    When you're using PEDIT, that's only selecting the POLYLINES. I'm trying to convert all the LINES to POLYLINES. It seems so simple...

  4. #4
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,496

    Default

    Sorry, but I don't believe you.

    Here is the text screen from a drawing where there were 22 objects consisting of lines and arcs (no polylines) and the PEDIT command was invoked. PEDITACCEPT was deliberately set to "0".

    Command: PEDIT

    Select polyline or [Multiple]: m

    Select objects: all
    22 found

    Select objects:

    Convert Lines, Arcs and Splines to polylines [Yes/No]? <Y> accept the default

    Enter an option [Close/Open/Join/Width/Fit/Spline/Decurve/Ltype gen/Reverse/Undo]: press Enter one more time to cancel out of the command

    BTW...this worked even when I added three polyline but instead of finding 22 objects it found 25. Not that it mattered.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  5. #5
    Full Member GISdude's Avatar
    Discipline
    Electrical
    GISdude's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Substation Drafter
    Discipline
    Electrical
    Using
    Civil 3D 2012
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Sac, CA
    Posts
    36

    Default

    DOOOOD...I must have a MONDAY MORNING BRAINFART! That did the trick! I owe you a Starbucks...if you're ever in Northern California.

  6. #6
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,496

    Default

    I'll be there this afternoon. Bring your BIG wallet.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  7. #7
    Senior Member MillerMG's Avatar
    Computer Details
    MillerMG's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Computer:
    OPTIPLEX 3020
    CPU:
    Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-4570 CPU @ 3.30GHz
    RAM:
    8.0 GB
    Monitor:
    The two in front of me. Dude, I got Dell's
    Discipline
    Civil
    MillerMG's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CADD Drafter
    Discipline
    Civil
    Using
    Civil 3D 2017
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Fredericksburg, VA
    Posts
    436

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Quote Originally Posted by ReMark View Post
    I'll be there this afternoon. Bring your BIG wallet.
    nice!!! Wish we had more thankful people like this guy hahahaha

Similar Threads

  1. One time select lines to convert polyline
    By 121madhu in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 27th Jul 2013, 07:01 am
  2. Select one line of a Polyline
    By guitarguy1685 in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 13th Jul 2011, 09:01 pm
  3. How to convert LINE, ARC, SPLINE,ELLIPSE to POLYLINE
    By cadamrao in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 16th Jun 2010, 03:57 pm
  4. How to convert trace to line or polyline
    By batman67 in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 5th Apr 2010, 09:02 am
  5. How do I convert an line to a polyline ?
    By nurquhar in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 17th Sep 2005, 02:38 pm

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts