+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Senior Member bennyboy86's Avatar
    Discipline
    Structural
    bennyboy86's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Structural Drafter
    Discipline
    Structural
    Using
    Revit 2015
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Sunshine Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    115

    Question inserting PDF's into Revit

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Hello all,


    is it possible to insert PDF's into Revit as an underlay? from what I can find out its a big fat no, but wanted to check here. using revit 2015 release 13.


    Thanks all.
    Words may lie, But actions will always tell the truth!

  2. #2
    Super Member halam's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2017
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Posts
    644

    Default

    No can do.
    AutoCAD can turn them into CAD First..
    Modelling is done with two hands, 2d & 3d. Let it work together..
    https://twitter.com/halammerts

  3. #3
    Luminous Being tzframpton's Avatar
    Computer Details
    tzframpton's Computer Details
    Computer:
    HP Zbook
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    tzframpton's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    BIM Specialist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Full Virtual Design and Construction BIM services for the MEP engineering and construction industries.
    Using
    Revit 2018
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Dallas, TX - USA
    Posts
    9,048

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bennyboy86 View Post
    Hello all,


    is it possible to insert PDF's into Revit as an underlay? from what I can find out its a big fat no, but wanted to check here. using revit 2015 release 13.


    Thanks all.
    Halam is correct: Currently there is no PDF underlay/import support.

    Quote Originally Posted by halam View Post
    No can do.
    AutoCAD can turn them into CAD First..
    Just to clarify, AutoCAD 2017 can convert them to DWG if it's a vector PDF. If AutoCAD 2016 or older is being used this will not be possible. However, I use Inkscape which is a free application to import vector based PDF's and export to DXF, subsequently converting to DWG after open/inspect/scale (if necessary)/save.

    Also, converting to any common image format (PNG, TIFF, JPG) works in Revit but DWG is far better if possible.
    Tannar Z. Frampton ™ | Frampton & Associates, Inc.

  4. #4
    Super Member halam's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2017
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Posts
    644

    Default

    I am not very familiar with working with DWF but it should be the Autodesk alternative to work with it instead of PDF..
    Convert it to DWF and use this as underlay. Is this an option to consider Tannar?
    Modelling is done with two hands, 2d & 3d. Let it work together..
    https://twitter.com/halammerts

  5. #5
    Luminous Being tzframpton's Avatar
    Computer Details
    tzframpton's Computer Details
    Computer:
    HP Zbook
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    tzframpton's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    BIM Specialist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Full Virtual Design and Construction BIM services for the MEP engineering and construction industries.
    Using
    Revit 2018
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Dallas, TX - USA
    Posts
    9,048

    Default

    Halam, I have never tried DWF but I think it would be an interesting idea.
    Tannar Z. Frampton ™ | Frampton & Associates, Inc.

  6. #6
    Forum Newbie
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Using
    Revit Architecture 2017
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Posts
    1

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    simply convert pdf to jpeg first.

Similar Threads

  1. Revit stand alone or Revit Suite Premium or Ultimate
    By Handiman in forum Revit General
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 8th Apr 2016, 02:56 pm
  2. Revit Error - 'Autodesk.Revit.DB.Level'
    By C4C in forum Revit MEP
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2nd Feb 2016, 11:22 pm
  3. revit 2013 & revit mep are they the same?
    By paul1966 in forum Revit General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 6th Nov 2012, 08:07 pm
  4. Link Revit model into current revit model
    By miyuki_mll in forum Revit General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2nd Nov 2009, 11:58 am
  5. inserting
    By DONALD KNAPP in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 27th Jun 2007, 06:41 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts