+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Posts
    18

    Default Elevation P-F plate 4

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Hello all, first I want to say I love this forum,it has helped me with a lot of questions.
    My problem is I'm working on Plate 4 in structural drafting showing the e-w elevation.
    In the call outs it is saying that the concrete slab is 6" thick. I'm assuming for both the first and second floor. The problem I have is if I make the slab 6" and the clear distance from floor to ceiling of the first floor is 10' and for the second floor is 8'. the elevation is off. Am I reading the call outs right? or is the 6 " slab just for the first floor and the second floor is brought up to the elevation level?
    The other question involved with this is, are the elevations including the width of the ceiling tiles, which are 1/2" thick or is it just to the beams?
    Thank you.

  2. #2
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,502

    Default

    Information in Penn-Foster project instructions tends to be...

    1. Incorrect or...
    2. Ambiguous or...
    3. Missing.

    If you'll hold on a moment maybe I can provide you with an answer.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  3. #3
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,502

    Default

    Project 5 - Plate 4

    The distances of 10 feet and 8 feet respectively are from the top of floor slab to the bottom of the overhead beam or channel depending on which plate you are working on. The slab thickness is 6" as stated for both the ground floor and the floor above.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Posts
    18

    Default

    ok thank you so then that would be the elevation from the finish grade correct? Im just trying clarify.

  5. #5
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,502

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    I am not on my CAD computer so I cannot confirm that but from what I recalled the top of slab elevation and finish grade were one in the same.

    Correction: The top of slab elevation for the ground floor is 293.90 and the finish grade is called out as being 292.90 (a difference of one foot). The information appears on page 11 of the project instructions. I am referring to the 054040.pdf file that another student posted here recently.

    There are threads specific to the project that contain images posted by other P-F students. Find one or more of them and have a look. Maybe you'll find an answer to your question.
    Last edited by ReMark; 19th May 2016 at 12:26 pm.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

Similar Threads

  1. Surface elevation not matching contour elevation
    By JordanK in forum Civil 3D & LDD
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 20th Sep 2014, 12:42 am
  2. I've Got A Plate In My Head!
    By Netminder in forum Autodesk Inventor
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 18th Jul 2012, 08:26 pm
  3. Help with PLATE 3
    By paisis123 in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 17th Jun 2011, 04:29 am
  4. Replies: 8
    Last Post: 20th Mar 2010, 11:42 am

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts