+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Door distance

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Posts
    18

    Default Door distance

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Hello all, I just have a general question. Im working on plate 1 of the electrical project, when I did the floor plan for the HVAC plates I just placed the doors where I was able to figure them out.
    My question is this, what is the distance recommended between the door on the hinge side and the corner of a wall? Is there a standard distance?
    Attached Files

  2. #2
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,380

    Default

    This looks like it was taken from the Penn-Foster electrical project 8. Is that correct?

    Doesn't the sample drawing you are working off of have a dimension?

    I typically leave four inches. Most newbies tend to forget about the doorknob and leave 2" or less.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Posts
    18

    Default

    Hi yes this is from the electrical project. I was just trying to determine if there was a standard. The other floor plans I did I left 4" also. But no there is no dimension for the clearance between the door and the wall for the corners.

  4. #4
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,380

    Default

    Brutal truth. P-F doesn't care. As far as they are concerned they are teaching you how to use various AutoCAD commands. They are not teaching you how to be an architectural draftsman or designer. As long as they see the information they are looking for when your drawing is reviewed you shouldn't have any problems receiving a good grade.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Posts
    18

    Default

    ok thank you

  6. #6
    Forum Deity Dana W's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Dana W's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 8 64 bit
    Computer:
    Dell XPS ONE 2710
    Motherboard:
    Dunno
    CPU:
    Intel I-5 3330S @ 2.7 Ghz
    RAM:
    6 Gb
    Graphics:
    On board barely adequate
    Primary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte
    Secondary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte external
    Monitor:
    All in one 27" touch & pen
    Discipline
    Construction
    Dana W's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Architectural Millwork Designer/Draftsman
    Discipline
    Construction
    Details
    Custom commercial millwork.
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2018
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Oviedo, Florida
    Posts
    4,689

    Default

    Use 4 inches. The framing carpenters will do it the way the framing members actually fit amyway. And don't bother to dimension the distance either, if it is in the corner. If a door is more than 4" out of the corner, then dimension to the centerline of the door, and windows too.
    The S197 gen Ford Mustang, and the F-4 Phantom both prove the same theory. "With enough power applied, a school bus will fly."

  7. #7
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,380

    Default

    The purpose of this particular P-F project is not the construction of a house but the layout of fixtures, switches outlets and the wiring between them. The student, as I have seen from several drawings shared with me, could make the dimension 2", 3" or even 6" and the P-F instructor could care less. It's an electrical wiring plan not a framing plan.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  8. #8
    Forum Deity Dana W's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Dana W's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 8 64 bit
    Computer:
    Dell XPS ONE 2710
    Motherboard:
    Dunno
    CPU:
    Intel I-5 3330S @ 2.7 Ghz
    RAM:
    6 Gb
    Graphics:
    On board barely adequate
    Primary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte
    Secondary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte external
    Monitor:
    All in one 27" touch & pen
    Discipline
    Construction
    Dana W's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Architectural Millwork Designer/Draftsman
    Discipline
    Construction
    Details
    Custom commercial millwork.
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2018
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Oviedo, Florida
    Posts
    4,689

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ReMark View Post
    The purpose of this particular P-F project is not the construction of a house but the layout of fixtures, switches outlets and the wiring between them. The student, as I have seen from several drawings shared with me, could make the dimension 2", 3" or even 6" and the P-F instructor could care less. It's an electrical wiring plan not a framing plan.
    Understood, but the student wants to know more about architectural plans apparently, so I gave the standard, which is intended to leave enough room for typical door casing around the opening at the corner. Now, the student is a tiny little bit better armed when the day comes that they are presented with real floor plans.
    The S197 gen Ford Mustang, and the F-4 Phantom both prove the same theory. "With enough power applied, a school bus will fly."

  9. #9
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,380

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Then I guess we are in agreement since I too recommended four inches.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

Similar Threads

  1. Door Dynamic Block; Door Panel Scale Changes
    By p01ak in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 27th May 2013, 12:50 am
  2. Trying to select a door causes entire wall and door to be selected. Why?
    By JamFam in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 10th Jan 2013, 12:05 pm
  3. DI(Distance) is only giving me X and Y distances and not the overall distance
    By baz88 in forum AutoCAD 2D Drafting, Object Properties & Interface
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 24th Sep 2012, 02:01 pm
  4. REQ: Place points and cumulative distance (text) on polyline, every X distance
    By enthralled in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 7th Mar 2012, 11:28 am
  5. distance in paperspace - command distance
    By flopo in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 20th Jul 2011, 06:41 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts