+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2016
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Posts
    2

    Default Does Autocad 2006 run on Windows 10 ?

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    As the thread topic asks, would Autocad 2006 version run on Windows 10 or would it have to be Windows 7 ?

    Also can anyone advise what specs a laptop would require to run the 2006 version? I realise it's quite old now, but it may be the only option expense wise.

  2. #2
    Luminous Being tzframpton's Avatar
    Computer Details
    tzframpton's Computer Details
    Computer:
    HP Zbook
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    tzframpton's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    BIM Specialist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Full Virtual Design and Construction BIM services for the MEP engineering and construction industries.
    Using
    Revit 2018
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Dallas, TX - USA
    Posts
    9,049

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Windsor View Post
    ....but it may be the only option expense wise.
    What do you mean "expense wise"? AutoCAD 2006 hasn't been currently for sale for a decade now. Do you have an older copy or something?

    Autodesk now has desktop licensing which is very inexpensive. You may want to look into it. Or, there's also free and very low cost alternative/clones you can consider. I believe we have a thread listing them all if you do a quick search.

    -TZ
    Tannar Z. Frampton ™ | Frampton & Associates, Inc.

  3. #3
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,448

    Default

    Users have gotten many different (read that as "older") versions of AutoCAD to run on Win10. All it takes is time and perseverance and a little knowledge. One workaround would be to use a program called "Longbow" but that would cost $$. Unless you are doing 3D drawings and/or a big user of lisp I'd recommend downloading the FREE 2D CAD program called Draftsight by Dassault Systemes. There is a 32-bit and 64-bit version depending on your OS. Draftsight will also run on Win7 and Win10.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  4. #4
    Super Moderator rkmcswain's Avatar
    Computer Details
    rkmcswain's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro x64
    Computer:
    HP ZBook 17
    CPU:
    i7-4810MQ @ 2.80 GHZ
    RAM:
    16GB
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quadro K4100M
    Primary Storage:
    256GB SSD
    Secondary Storage:
    1TB SATA
    Monitor:
    (2) HP 23"
    Discipline
    Civil
    rkmcswain's Discipline Details
    Discipline
    Civil
    Details
    CAD Manager
    Using
    Civil 3D 2017
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Houston
    Posts
    4,449

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by tzframpton View Post

    Autodesk now has desktop licensing which is very inexpensive.
    Now those are two words I've never heard associated with AutoCAD's new rental options.
    At $210/month or $1,344/year - it could be considered a cost of doing business, but I can't see how this is "very inexpensive" - when there are alternatives out there for much less.
    R.K. McSwain
    CAD Panacea | twitter

  5. #5
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,448

    Default

    If 3D and lisp aren't required a user could opt to rent AutoCAD LT monthly for $45 or take advantage of the current 20% off a yearly rental and pay only $288 U.S.

    Another option is an AutoCAD clone such as BricsCAD. BricsCAD Classic (2D) is $550; Pro (adds 3D modeling plus lisp support) is $680 while the Platinum version (adds many other features) is $1020 U.S.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  6. #6
    Luminous Being tzframpton's Avatar
    Computer Details
    tzframpton's Computer Details
    Computer:
    HP Zbook
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    tzframpton's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    BIM Specialist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Full Virtual Design and Construction BIM services for the MEP engineering and construction industries.
    Using
    Revit 2018
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Dallas, TX - USA
    Posts
    9,049

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by rkmcswain View Post
    Now those are two words I've never heard associated with AutoCAD's new rental options.
    At $210/month or $1,344/year - it could be considered a cost of doing business, but I can't see how this is "very inexpensive" - when there are alternatives out there for much less.
    Yeah, good point. But LT is only $45/mo for monthly, or $26/mo if you buy 3 year up front:
    http://www.autodesk.com/store/products/autocad-lt

    Pretty cheap, depending on what specific needs. A current subscription of AutoCAD LT is just as good if not better than AutoCAD 2006, if you can get by without LISP. I mean, LT still has Tool Palettes, and no clone that I've seen comes close to offering something so simple yet so effective.
    Tannar Z. Frampton ™ | Frampton & Associates, Inc.

  7. #7
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,448

    Default

    I'd say the OP would be better off paying $680 for BricsCAD Pro and getting 3D along with lisp support.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  8. #8
    Luminous Being Dadgad's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    At the confluence of worthlessness & invaluability
    Posts
    5,973

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ReMark View Post
    I'd say the OP would be better off paying $680 for BricsCAD Pro and getting 3D along with lisp support.
    +1

    Why rent LT, when for less money you could own a more complete package?
    Volume and repetition do not validate opinions forged in the absence of thought.

  9. #9
    Super Moderator rkmcswain's Avatar
    Computer Details
    rkmcswain's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro x64
    Computer:
    HP ZBook 17
    CPU:
    i7-4810MQ @ 2.80 GHZ
    RAM:
    16GB
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quadro K4100M
    Primary Storage:
    256GB SSD
    Secondary Storage:
    1TB SATA
    Monitor:
    (2) HP 23"
    Discipline
    Civil
    rkmcswain's Discipline Details
    Discipline
    Civil
    Details
    CAD Manager
    Using
    Civil 3D 2017
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Houston
    Posts
    4,449

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Dadgad View Post
    +1

    Why rent LT, when for less money you could own a more complete package?
    +1
    This ^^^^^^^^^^
    R.K. McSwain
    CAD Panacea | twitter

  10. #10
    Luminous Being tzframpton's Avatar
    Computer Details
    tzframpton's Computer Details
    Computer:
    HP Zbook
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    tzframpton's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    BIM Specialist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Full Virtual Design and Construction BIM services for the MEP engineering and construction industries.
    Using
    Revit 2018
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Dallas, TX - USA
    Posts
    9,049

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Owning is definitely nice. For a one time price you can use it as long as you need until it's necessary to upgrade.
    Tannar Z. Frampton ™ | Frampton & Associates, Inc.

Similar Threads

  1. Not opening AutoCad files on Windows XP, Windows cannot find %path%\filename.dwg"
    By jannerissanen in forum AutoCAD Bugs, Error Messages & Quirks
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 27th Apr 2015, 12:30 am
  2. autocad 2006 not compatible with windows 7
    By eryka91 in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 6th Apr 2012, 06:50 pm
  3. AutoCAD 2006 and Windows 7
    By Grigs in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 11th Jan 2012, 06:40 pm
  4. Windows 7 and ACAD 2006 - issues
    By troyadamietz in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 27th Jan 2010, 04:55 pm
  5. Does Autocad 2006 work in windows 2003 server
    By KingTuT in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 6th Dec 2005, 04:08 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts