Cannot accurately join/connect lines even after using edit polyline

Hey everyone. Really looking forward to joining this cad forum and learning all i can about cad. Im a owner operator welding business owner and looking forward to utilizing this stuff for my business.

One problem that i have encountered now that all my searching cant come up with a answer to is when i connect lines using pedit and join after zooming in to my drawing the lines are not lined/matched up. I have overlap with the lines.

Essentially im looking for a easy way to take one line and then mate it up with another line exact and accurately fairly quickly. If i have a diagonal line and i want to make a verticle line mate up with it, when i currently do this and then after pedit. I zoom in and it looks like i didnt draw the verticle line enough or it is too long. Hope this makes sense. If i was just using verticle and horizontal lines this wouldnt be a prob cuz id just thpe cordinates, but the diagonal make this a problem.

Im using draftsight 2013 version for windows vista. 2 weeks into being a complete cad vergin. Thanks so much for anyone willing to help!!!!

You need to look into "Snaps" these allow accurate conection between objects some examples below you can make combinations to suit your needs. Some one with Draftsight will help more.

END finds end of lines plines etc

INT intersection of say two lines

MID middle of a line

CENTER centre of circle and arcs