Editing/Deleting Layout Title blocks externally of AutoCAD

Alexw89

Good Morning Folks!

I trust you are all well? I apologise in advance if this is not posted correctly. I'm new to this forum as I signed up for some assistance on a particular thought I'm having and would be grateful for your help. I've been working for a House Builder for about 4 years now and have come to use a wealth of Lee Mac's Lisp functions (I can't stress how much they've helped me, such a help!) as there is tendency to have a lot of repetition including Titleblocks being renamed with standard house types.

What I'm looking for is whether there might be a way of editing titleblocks and deleting layouts outside of a drawing (possibly like a dialog box or similar?). It would cut the amount of time substantially spent changing titleblocks. I'm open to learning some code unless people have already encountered similar ideas I would appreciate the help!

Many Thanks

Alex W

Why do you need to keep changing title blocks? There may be a simple solution to what you're wanting to accomplish. You can always use a different title block in either a new layout or a new drawing using the other as an xref.

Hi Tombu. Thanks for the prompt response! The reason being is we have a set of core standard house type drawings that are then Xref'd into individual site folders. These are then honed down by deleting the layout tabs that aren't applicable and then the titleblock is amended to show the specific site address. If you have any particular ideas I would be open to any suggestions? Also if you want I could send a layout to give you a better idea as to what I'm trying to achieve.

Thanks

Alex W

Is that specific site address stored in a title block attribute? Is it different for each layout? Can you attach a small example with the site address you want changed with the new address?

I like to reference custom drawing properties as they're easy to modify, you can use reference Sheet Set variables as well.