+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    138

    Default can't delete this layer and something else...

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    hello,
    Please see the attached drawing with those 2 groups of blocks , sonarcontact and sonarcontact_hf ; i need to take all the sonarcontact_hf into sonarcontact layer, i already tried with select all/ change layer , they do move but they still remain attached to sonarcontact HF layer, which i'd like to erase after moving the ojbects from it.


    also, the colour should be by layer, red, and not blue, i tried to change but it doesn't work

    can someone try to open up and do this? cause is not working for me
    Attached Files

  2. #2
    Luminous Being RobDraw's Avatar
    Using
    MEP 2017
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Connecticut, USA
    Posts
    5,161

    Default

    This is basic stuff and should be posted in the beginners section.

    Have you looked into taking a class, yet?

    There are a number of ways to do this. I would start with the block editor but the attributes are an issue because in order for the changes to take affect, you need to run ATTSYNC and the positions change which may nor be desirable.

    Merging the layers did exactly what you want.
    Drafting is a breeze.

  3. #3
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,375

    Default

    Whoever is responsible for creating these drawings does not appear to have had any formal training. Is it any wonder the drawings are so problematic? Blocks should be created on layer "0" and when inserted should take on the color and linetype of the layer they are inserted on. Once a user starts overriding layer settings they open themselves up to problems down the road. Remember, the person that initially created the drawing may not be the only person who has to deal with the drawing in the future. As CAD techs we should not be making each others life more difficult.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  4. #4
    Luminous Being RobDraw's Avatar
    Using
    MEP 2017
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Connecticut, USA
    Posts
    5,161

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Quote Originally Posted by ReMark View Post
    Blocks should be created on layer "0" and when inserted should take on the color and linetype of the layer they are inserted on.
    This is only appropriate for very simple blocks. In this case, I would probably have the text on it's own layer.
    Drafting is a breeze.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 16th Nov 2015, 11:08 pm
  2. Pdf Layer want to Delete
    By suryatry26 in forum Catch All
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 30th Nov 2012, 08:33 am
  3. Cannot delete a layer
    By salmonrose in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 3rd Feb 2010, 10:11 pm
  4. Delete layer using VBA
    By Hmm.. in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 35
    Last Post: 16th Jul 2008, 12:20 pm
  5. Delete Layer(s)
    By CADTutor in forum Application Archive
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 3rd Dec 2004, 08:12 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts