+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Senior Member Siberian's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Siberian's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Discipline
    HVAC
    Siberian's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Engineer, HVAC
    Discipline
    HVAC
    Using
    Revit 2019
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    469

    Default Arial not showing on screen as it does on paper

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    I notice when using different fonts in a drawing that while they may appear to have very different letter "thickness" on screen, it's often not so on paper. As an example I can mention Arial vs TXT. Arial appears to be very thick compared to txt on screen, but as soon as it is printed, it is not that different. The fact that Arial gives you the wrong impression on screen makes things a bit difficult, especially when drawing is stuffed with a million things struggeling for space. TXT on the other hand appears the same on screen as on paper. Can Arial be fixed in some way so that it appears on screen more like it actually will on paper?
    If at first you don't succeed - remove all evidence you ever tried.

  2. #2
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,865

    Default

    Could it be a function of your graphics card and monitor size/resolution? I don't think there is anything you can actually change to make what you print agree with what you see onscreen.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  3. #3
    Full Member Ferdinand's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2004
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Czech republic
    Posts
    38

    Default

    Textfill=1 ?

  4. #4
    Senior Member Norts's Avatar
    Using
    Map 3D 2008
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Manchester, UK
    Posts
    448

    Default

    I presume your Arial is a True Type Font (ttf), and txt is an Autocad Shape Font (shx).
    ttf files have their thickness set in the font.
    shx files have their thickness set by the lineweight setting (by color, bylayer, etc)
    Posting no more
    ...................................................


  5. #5
    Senior Member brassworks's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2008
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Woburn, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    127

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    What about the "LWT" (lineweight) tab at the bottom of the screen (with the Paper/Model, Snap, Ortho, etc., toggles)? When that is on, it does show a more accurate representation of lineweights (thickness or width) as shown when printed.

Similar Threads

  1. OLE objects not showing up
    By Robert Suggs in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 20th Apr 2014, 12:09 pm
  2. text in command bar not showing
    By zepedacuadra in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 23rd Oct 2006, 12:38 pm
  3. hidden lines not showing
    By angieroonie in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 18th Jul 2006, 02:12 pm
  4. 13'x24" paper layout, Ink not showing up!
    By Caiti in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10th Jul 2006, 06:45 pm
  5. Trouble Plotting Banner with Arial Black text
    By CADGal in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 22nd Jan 2005, 02:39 am

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts