+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Posts
    2

    Default Upside Down Text When I Plot To PDF

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Has anyone seen or head of this error before, and does anyone have any suggestions on how to stop it happening. It does seem to be a random occurrence. When I plot to PDF the letters are coming in rotated about 90 degrees. No Idea why. PDF Rotated Text.jpg

  2. #2
    Super Moderator SLW210's Avatar
    Computer Details
    SLW210's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 PRO 64-bit
    Computer:
    IBM Lenovo
    Motherboard:
    ACPI x64
    CPU:
    Pentium(R) i5 4570 @ 3.2GHz
    RAM:
    8 GB RAM
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quadro 600 1GB
    Primary Storage:
    300 GB
    Secondary Storage:
    650GB
    Monitor:
    2x ThinkVision 24"
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    SLW210's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Design Draftsman
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Mostly do drafting related to manufacturing. From doing site layouts with proposed updates, additions and renovations to be budgeted and submitted for bid, to updating and changing existing drawings to reflect maintenance and repair/revision work done on site.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    South Florida, USA
    Posts
    11,725

    Default

    Can you post the drawing file and the PDF?
    “A narrow mind and a fat head invariably come on the same person” Zig Zigler



  3. #3
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Posts
    2

    Default

    Got dragged away onto something else.

    The actual DWG file is too large to upload here. I have uploaded the PDF and the layout template, which was the part that was messed up.

    I have managed a work around, by using an alternative (but slower) PDF plotter. (PDF creator rather than PDF complete) More curious as to how or why this was happening.

    CO-OP Stannington 01 Rev -.pdf


    Drawing1.dwg

  4. #4
    Super Moderator SLW210's Avatar
    Computer Details
    SLW210's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 PRO 64-bit
    Computer:
    IBM Lenovo
    Motherboard:
    ACPI x64
    CPU:
    Pentium(R) i5 4570 @ 3.2GHz
    RAM:
    8 GB RAM
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quadro 600 1GB
    Primary Storage:
    300 GB
    Secondary Storage:
    650GB
    Monitor:
    2x ThinkVision 24"
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    SLW210's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Design Draftsman
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Mostly do drafting related to manufacturing. From doing site layouts with proposed updates, additions and renovations to be budgeted and submitted for bid, to updating and changing existing drawings to reflect maintenance and repair/revision work done on site.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    South Florida, USA
    Posts
    11,725

    Default

    Plots fine here using the AutoCAD DWG to PDF.pc3 and Adobe PDF.

    My guess is a problem with PDF program you are using.

    Why not use the AutoCAD DWG to PDF?
    “A narrow mind and a fat head invariably come on the same person” Zig Zigler



  5. #5
    Super Moderator SLW210's Avatar
    Computer Details
    SLW210's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 PRO 64-bit
    Computer:
    IBM Lenovo
    Motherboard:
    ACPI x64
    CPU:
    Pentium(R) i5 4570 @ 3.2GHz
    RAM:
    8 GB RAM
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quadro 600 1GB
    Primary Storage:
    300 GB
    Secondary Storage:
    650GB
    Monitor:
    2x ThinkVision 24"
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    SLW210's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Design Draftsman
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Mostly do drafting related to manufacturing. From doing site layouts with proposed updates, additions and renovations to be budgeted and submitted for bid, to updating and changing existing drawings to reflect maintenance and repair/revision work done on site.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    South Florida, USA
    Posts
    11,725

    Default

    Here are the PDFs I created. First is AutoCAD the second is Adobe.
    Attached Files
    “A narrow mind and a fat head invariably come on the same person” Zig Zigler



  6. #6
    Super Member
    Computer Details
    Ski_Me's Computer Details
    Computer:
    DELL (why oh lord must I suffer)
    Discipline
    Electrical
    Ski_Me's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Fire Alarm tech
    Discipline
    Electrical
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Edmond. OK
    Posts
    617

    Default

    All the rotated text seems to be the same kind of font. Could it be a text style setting? It doesn't look like a normally used font so if somebody elses computer didn't have that font would it use the default setting in the program?

  7. #7
    Forum Deity Dana W's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Dana W's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 8 64 bit
    Computer:
    Dell XPS ONE 2710
    Motherboard:
    Dunno
    CPU:
    Intel I-5 3330S @ 2.7 Ghz
    RAM:
    6 Gb
    Graphics:
    On board barely adequate
    Primary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte
    Secondary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte external
    Monitor:
    All in one 27" touch & pen
    Discipline
    Construction
    Dana W's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Architectural Millwork Designer/Draftsman
    Discipline
    Construction
    Details
    Custom commercial millwork.
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2018
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Oviedo, Florida
    Posts
    4,680

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Quote Originally Posted by mapwhisper View Post
    Got dragged away onto something else.

    The actual DWG file is too large to upload here. I have uploaded the PDF and the layout template, which was the part that was messed up.

    I have managed a work around, by using an alternative (but slower) PDF plotter. (PDF creator rather than PDF complete) More curious as to how or why this was happening.

    Attachment 59081


    Attachment 59082
    IMHO, the dwg to pdf plotter and the batch plot capabilities within AutoCad 2015 and newer, are quite up to the the task. Many of the accessory pdf programs do not keep up with updates to support the newer versions of AutoCad all that well.
    The S197 gen Ford Mustang, and the F-4 Phantom both prove the same theory. "With enough power applied, a school bus will fly."

Similar Threads

  1. Ordinate Dimensions and Text Upside Down and Back to Front
    By SimonC in forum AutoCAD 2D Drafting, Object Properties & Interface
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2nd Dec 2013, 05:30 pm
  2. Upside down dimensions
    By CADgirl in forum AutoCAD 2D Drafting, Object Properties & Interface
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 3rd Apr 2013, 02:08 pm
  3. Dview - upside down dim
    By Marc5 in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 29th Jul 2010, 07:45 pm
  4. OLE upside down
    By Odlanyer in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 15th Jan 2010, 02:44 pm
  5. anyone plot upside down?
    By cadfly in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12th Aug 2008, 04:05 pm

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts