+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    Architecture 2015
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    6

    Default Joining walls of varying angles

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Hello all,

    Please can anyone help with this question ?

    So after many years of just dealing with shoddy walls joining together I have decided to ask how this can be done. So, if you draw 3 walls in varying angles and thicknesses together how can I do this so it all looks clean rather than 2 joining and the other one looking 'cut off' ? Does this make sense ? Given how wonderful AutoCAD is I am sure there must be some way of dealing with this !

    Thanks for any help !

  2. #2
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,447

    Default

    Are we talking interior walls or exterior walls? What type of construction? Wood frame, masonry, metal, other? Will each wall be the same material or might you have two or more different types of walls that have to join up? We need more specifics. Will you be drawing the walls in 2D or 3D?
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  3. #3
    Luminous Being RobDraw's Avatar
    Using
    MEP 2017
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Connecticut, USA
    Posts
    5,165

    Default

    Maybe this question is better suited for the architecture section. That is unless we are talking 2D linework and not walls.
    Drafting is a breeze.

  4. #4
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    Architecture 2015
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    6

    Default

    I am using the 3D walls and it tends to be the same type of partition wall and the same height. Wasn't sure where to post this. Sorry. Any help would be great

  5. #5
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,447

    Default

    3D partition walls. Are they wood framed? Can you attach a sample drawing that you are having a problem with?

    Alright...where did you run off to?
    Last edited by ReMark; 16th Sep 2016 at 12:44 pm.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  6. #6
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    Architecture 2015
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    6

    Default

    I can't seem to attached anything. Not sure what I'm doing wrong..... Sorry.

  7. #7
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,447

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Start by clicking on the Go Advanced button under the lower right hand corner of the Quick Reply box. At the next screen look for the Paper Clip icon.

    How much CAD experience do you have? How much experience do you have using AutoCAD Architecture 2015?
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 30th Mar 2012, 12:28 am
  2. Railings with varying heights?
    By Bogbadbob658 in forum Architecture & ADT
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 21st Nov 2011, 07:54 pm
  3. varying radius fillet
    By peter_rtc in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 11th Apr 2008, 01:22 pm
  4. Varying LT Scale on different computers
    By kris1970 in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 18th Jan 2007, 09:55 am
  5. Plugins for drawing cavity walls, party walls etc.
    By LukeR in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 3rd Jan 2007, 08:24 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts