+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
  1. #1
    Senior Member khoshravan's Avatar
    Computer Details
    khoshravan's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Computer:
    Sony Vaio
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Tabriz
    Posts
    482

    Default What is Object Snap mode of Nearest?

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    What is nearest as object snap mode and where it will be useful to use it?
    Lenovo G510
    AMD Radeon Garphics
    Processor Intel(R) Core(TM) i3-4000M CPU @ 2.40GHz 2.40 GHz
    Installed memory (RAM) 4.00 GB
    System type 64-bit OS, x64-based processor

  2. #2
    Senior Member khoshravan's Avatar
    Computer Details
    khoshravan's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Computer:
    Sony Vaio
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Tabriz
    Posts
    482

    Default Is there any snap object mode to draw a line between two circles?

    I have 2 objects, let say two circles with different centers and different radius.
    I want to draw a line from quadrant of one circle with 50 degree angle until it intersects with other circle. Obviously the length of the line is unknown.

    A basic solution would be to draw a longer line and then trim it.
    But I want to be more productive and draw in one step. Is it possible?
    Attached Images
    Last edited by khoshravan; 2nd Oct 2016 at 04:08 pm.
    Lenovo G510
    AMD Radeon Garphics
    Processor Intel(R) Core(TM) i3-4000M CPU @ 2.40GHz 2.40 GHz
    Installed memory (RAM) 4.00 GB
    System type 64-bit OS, x64-based processor

  3. #3
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,375

    Default

    Please refrain from creating duplicate threads as it only leads to confusion. I'm pretty sure you have been told this in the past as well. Thank you.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  4. #4
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,375

    Default

    You can find an explanation of all the OSnap settings right here in the Tutorials section of CADTutor.

    Re: NEAREST

    The Nearest Osnap snaps to the nearest point on a drawing object. This Osnap is useful if you want to make sure that a pick point lies on a drawing object but you don't necessarily mind exactly where it is located.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  5. #5
    Luminous Being RobDraw's Avatar
    Using
    MEP 2017
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Connecticut, USA
    Posts
    5,161

    Default

    That should read "nearest point to the cursor..." Nearest, by itself, is ambiguous.
    Drafting is a breeze.

  6. #6
    Senior Member khoshravan's Avatar
    Computer Details
    khoshravan's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Computer:
    Sony Vaio
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Tabriz
    Posts
    482

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ReMark View Post
    Please refrain from creating duplicate threads as it only leads to confusion. I'm pretty sure you have been told this in the past as well. Thank you.
    I thought it might not be good to ask two questions in one thread. My main concern, is the question in this thread. I thought "nearest osnap" should answer the question, but I am not sure.
    Lenovo G510
    AMD Radeon Garphics
    Processor Intel(R) Core(TM) i3-4000M CPU @ 2.40GHz 2.40 GHz
    Installed memory (RAM) 4.00 GB
    System type 64-bit OS, x64-based processor

  7. #7
    Senior Member khoshravan's Avatar
    Computer Details
    khoshravan's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Computer:
    Sony Vaio
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Tabriz
    Posts
    482

    Default

    Would be very happy to know your comment on solving this drawing issue.
    Lenovo G510
    AMD Radeon Garphics
    Processor Intel(R) Core(TM) i3-4000M CPU @ 2.40GHz 2.40 GHz
    Installed memory (RAM) 4.00 GB
    System type 64-bit OS, x64-based processor

  8. #8
    Forum Deity Dana W's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Dana W's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 8 64 bit
    Computer:
    Dell XPS ONE 2710
    Motherboard:
    Dunno
    CPU:
    Intel I-5 3330S @ 2.7 Ghz
    RAM:
    6 Gb
    Graphics:
    On board barely adequate
    Primary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte
    Secondary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte external
    Monitor:
    All in one 27" touch & pen
    Discipline
    Construction
    Dana W's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Architectural Millwork Designer/Draftsman
    Discipline
    Construction
    Details
    Custom commercial millwork.
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2018
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Oviedo, Florida
    Posts
    4,689

    Default

    You can't know the intersecting point ahead of time, and there are no random snaps on a circle. You have only quadrant, tangent, perpendicular, and center. Since your line will only hit one of these points by chance, depending on the alignment of the two circles, your longer line drawn at the proper angle, then trim is about it. At least it's accurate.
    The S197 gen Ford Mustang, and the F-4 Phantom both prove the same theory. "With enough power applied, a school bus will fly."

  9. #9
    Luminous Being
    Using
    Civil 3D 2016
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    GEELONG AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    9,746

    Default

    You have Autocad so maybe a good time to learn lisp it can be done, quad, angle, pick 2nd circle, draw line done, hint "intersectwith". At 458 posts you should be starting to have a go rather than just rely on every one else.
    A man who never made mistakes never made anything

  10. #10
    Luminous Being
    Using
    Civil 3D 2016
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    GEELONG AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    9,746

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    An example is using leader to pick the arrow head point make sure it touches a line etc.
    A man who never made mistakes never made anything

Similar Threads

  1. What is Object Snap mode of Nearest?
    By khoshravan in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 3rd Oct 2016, 04:37 am
  2. Mouse Pointer jumps from current location when I select object snap mode
    By ralcala55 in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 15th Jul 2014, 10:25 pm
  3. Snap Mode and Object Snap Time Line
    By AQucsaiJr in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 16th Jan 2010, 09:17 am
  4. Need to Draw Circles at all endpoints of and object
    By MikeP in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 13th Jun 2008, 03:20 pm
  5. Snap a tangent line to two circles?
    By John F. in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 3rd Dec 2007, 07:18 pm

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts