+ Reply to Thread
Page 6 of 6 FirstFirst ... 4 5 6
Results 51 to 59 of 59
  1. #51
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,506

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    What version of Win7 are you running? Please answer.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  2. #52
    Senior Member
    Using
    Mechanical 2013
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Posts
    109

    Laughing

    Professionale i am safe

  3. #53
    Luminous Being RobDraw's Avatar
    Using
    MEP 2017
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Connecticut, USA
    Posts
    5,169

    Default

    ... for a couple of years, when Win7 is no longer supported.
    Drafting is a breeze.

  4. #54
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,506

    Default

    You could still run AutoCAD on Win7 even 10 years from now if you knew what you were doing.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  5. #55
    Luminous Being RobDraw's Avatar
    Using
    MEP 2017
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Connecticut, USA
    Posts
    5,169

    Default

    I, personally, wouldn't recommend it.

    This is a layman's opinion, but since Windows (and programs) has changed quite a bit in the way it works in recent releases, relying more upon, at least, intermittent connections to the internet among other things and becoming an OS for multiple types of devices. I would not hold off on upgrading to 10. Not to mention the ability to run newer hardware which is getting more advanced very quickly.

    That's coming from a Windows 98 diehard until I went 64 bit and had to go with Vista.
    Drafting is a breeze.

  6. #56
    Senior Member
    Using
    Mechanical 2013
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Posts
    109

    Default

    I have another PC with xp And if It is Not supported It run autocad.

  7. #57
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,506

    Default

    It's amazing what people still run for an OS despite the fact they are no longer supported by MS. If I were to do it, specifically to run a version of AutoCAD, I would do so on a completely separate computer that is NOT hooked up to the Internet.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  8. #58
    Senior Member
    Using
    Mechanical 2013
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Posts
    109

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ReMark View Post
    It's amazing what people still run for an OS despite the fact they are no longer supported by MS. If I were to do it, specifically to run a version of AutoCAD, I would do so on a completely separate computer that is NOT hooked up to the Internet.
    BUT WHY all this fury! for the case operating systems sale. It is not a problem for me now.

  9. #59
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,506

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    I was not specifically referring to you and I have no idea what "for the case...operating systems sale" means. Please translate. BTW...you obviously missed my earlier post where I stated that everyone in the office I work in that is using AutoCAD is doing so on a computer that runs Windows 7.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

Similar Threads

  1. 3AutoCAD file w/ multiple layers big and slow
    By cursedeye in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 31st Jul 2012, 01:56 pm
  2. Certain file slow/not responding
    By ngubk in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 20th Oct 2011, 01:25 pm
  3. File starts fast, gets very slow, very quick.
    By Val Hall in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 39
    Last Post: 4th Jul 2008, 05:19 pm
  4. SLOW file access
    By WagglyFawn in forum AutoCAD 2D Drafting, Object Properties & Interface
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 25th Mar 2008, 01:38 pm
  5. Slow file browser
    By Big Mike in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 9th Dec 2005, 06:53 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts