+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Posts
    2

    Embarrassed Too many problems for such a simple drawing...

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    I'm familiar with creating assembly drawings in SolidWorks, but AutoCAD is a different animal. This layout looks hideous. Why won't my dashed lines and dimensions show in the second viewport? And even if they did, I don't think the annotative dimstyle is doing anything. And no matter what I do, the layout won't plot in monochrome.ctb; the lines still have their colors. And does anyone have advice on how to make this look more professional?


    A tremendous THANK YOU to anyone willing to help me with this. I think it's clear I officially have no idea what I'm doing.
    Attached Files

  2. #2
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,370

    Default

    Re: dashed lines. You have the DASH layer frozen in your second viewport that's why they did not show up.

    Re: Annotative dimstyle. Could it be that you have only one annotative scale assigned to your dimensions instead of two?

    Re: not plotting in black and white. I haven't checked yet but did you assign a True Color to any of the layers? True Colors will plot in the assigned color even if you select Monochrome as your plot style.

    Update. Well as it turns out you did not assign any True Colors. Good. Now for the better news. To fix the problem first activate the Properties Palette. Next, click on the viewport to activate it. Now look on the Properties Palette under the heading Misc for the Shade plot option. Using the scroll arrows find and click on Legacy Hidden. Click anywhere outside of the viewport to deactivate it. Start the Plot command and after setting your plot parameters click on the Preview button. The contents of both viewports should be displayed in black and white. Now go ahead and print your drawing.

    A couple of suggestions re: your drawing in general.

    1. Put your viewports on their own layer and set the layer to "no print" in the Layer Properties Manager.
    2. Lock your viewport displays so that the scale won't be inadvertently changed as you switch between model space and your layout.

    Question: Why are the bolts drawn in 2D but everything else is 3D?
    Last edited by ReMark; 4th Oct 2016 at 12:58 pm.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  3. #3
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,370

    Default

    So, were you able to get your drawing straightened out and finally printed the way you want?
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  4. #4
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Posts
    2

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Quote Originally Posted by ReMark View Post
    So, were you able to get your drawing straightened out and finally printed the way you want?
    Sorry for the late response. Yes, I got the drawing to a much better place. It's behaving more how I want it to now. And I can't believe I didn't notice the DASH layer was frozen. I don't even know how it got there. But anyway, it's all better now.

    The bolts are in 2D because some of them were from a 2D drawing. I should probably just make new 3D ones.

    Thank you so much for your very detailed response!

Similar Threads

  1. Simple Drawing
    By Bytore in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12th Feb 2015, 07:23 pm
  2. Simple Drawing
    By ducky29 in forum Student Project Questions
    Replies: 49
    Last Post: 22nd May 2014, 09:03 pm
  3. need a simple 3d autocad drawing
    By rossboy in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 18th Mar 2011, 04:54 pm
  4. simple expression problems
    By tcuneio in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 9th Dec 2010, 09:46 pm
  5. Need help drawing... Simple
    By jmaurerhrtlndstl in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 18th Sep 2010, 12:34 pm

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts