+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Senior Member khoshravan's Avatar
    Computer Details
    khoshravan's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Computer:
    Sony Vaio
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Tabriz
    Posts
    482

    Default how to print multiple files in one sheet?

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    I have four simple drawings in 4 separate files.
    I want to print them in 4 corners of one A4 sheet.
    What is the easiest way to accomplish this task?
    Lenovo G510
    AMD Radeon Garphics
    Processor Intel(R) Core(TM) i3-4000M CPU @ 2.40GHz 2.40 GHz
    Installed memory (RAM) 4.00 GB
    System type 64-bit OS, x64-based processor

  2. #2
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,375

    Default

    Create a master sheet and xref in each of the four drawings.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  3. #3
    Senior Member khoshravan's Avatar
    Computer Details
    khoshravan's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Computer:
    Sony Vaio
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Tabriz
    Posts
    482

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ReMark View Post
    Create a master sheet and xref in each of the four drawings.
    Dear ReMark
    Thanks for your reply.
    Sorry for a basic question but what is master sheet and how can I create it?
    Lenovo G510
    AMD Radeon Garphics
    Processor Intel(R) Core(TM) i3-4000M CPU @ 2.40GHz 2.40 GHz
    Installed memory (RAM) 4.00 GB
    System type 64-bit OS, x64-based processor

  4. #4
    Senior Member khoshravan's Avatar
    Computer Details
    khoshravan's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Computer:
    Sony Vaio
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Tabriz
    Posts
    482

    Default

    Dear ReMark
    In a new file, I inserted the four drawing as block.
    I think this is what you meant by master sheet.
    I solved my problem.
    Thanks again for your solution.
    Lenovo G510
    AMD Radeon Garphics
    Processor Intel(R) Core(TM) i3-4000M CPU @ 2.40GHz 2.40 GHz
    Installed memory (RAM) 4.00 GB
    System type 64-bit OS, x64-based processor

  5. #5
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,375

    Default

    Yes, that is one way to do it but if any or all of those drawings were to change you would have to repeat the process. Attaching the drawings as an xref to the master drawing is preferable if one anticipates there may be further changes down the road. When the master drawing is opened it will pull in the latest version of each of the four drawings automatically.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  6. #6
    Senior Member khoshravan's Avatar
    Computer Details
    khoshravan's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Computer:
    Sony Vaio
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Tabriz
    Posts
    482

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Quote Originally Posted by ReMark View Post
    Yes, that is one way to do it but if any or all of those drawings were to change you would have to repeat the process. Attaching the drawings as an xref to the master drawing is preferable if one anticipates there may be further changes down the road. When the master drawing is opened it will pull in the latest version of each of the four drawings automatically.
    Thanks a lot.
    I thought what I am doing (Insert/Block) is xref. After reading your post I figured out the point. I have to use Insert/External References.

    Thanks again for your informative information.
    Lenovo G510
    AMD Radeon Garphics
    Processor Intel(R) Core(TM) i3-4000M CPU @ 2.40GHz 2.40 GHz
    Installed memory (RAM) 4.00 GB
    System type 64-bit OS, x64-based processor

Similar Threads

  1. Is there Layer State Manager for importing LAS files into multiple files?
    By kili in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 8th Mar 2014, 12:55 am
  2. Sheet Set Manager - Publish to PDF - Print slightly off
    By duccioa in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 29th Nov 2013, 04:03 pm
  3. Call multiple .scr files from list to create new AutoCad files
    By northcoastrat in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2nd Dec 2012, 12:50 am
  4. Print Multiple .idw files to one PDF file
    By bdanielson in forum Autodesk Inventor
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 15th Oct 2010, 10:24 pm
  5. How can I print all 4 views from the viewport to 1 sheet?
    By A5ianKSA in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 18th Nov 2003, 11:27 pm

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts