+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Full Member
    Computer Details
    jkoll66's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Computer:
    Alien
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    jkoll66's Discipline Details
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    Details
    Conveyor Design
    Using
    AutoCAD 2016
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    33

    Default Scale entire layout with viewports

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Hi all, I have a colleague that came to me with a question. He would like to grab everything in a layout and scale it by 1.5X while at the same time having all of the viewports in that layout adjust their scales by 1.5 as well. I don't think there is a way to have AutoCAD automatically do this, but I thought I'd post it in case I'm wrong. Thanks.

  2. #2
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,375

    Default

    Why does he want to scale the layout itself 1.5X? What scales have been assigned to the viewports? Are they all the same or different?
    Last edited by ReMark; 6th Oct 2016 at 10:24 am.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  3. #3
    Luminous Being
    Using
    Civil 3D 2016
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    GEELONG AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    9,737

    Default

    We work metric and our sheet size is A1 all viewports are at correct scale within the A1, BUT we normally plot A3 which is 1/2 scale for convenience, all we do is just change the overall plot scale factor to 1=2. 1.5x like ReMark is real odd scaling. Metric is sq root 2 for page sizes 1.414
    A man who never made mistakes never made anything

  4. #4
    Full Member
    Computer Details
    jkoll66's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Computer:
    Alien
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    jkoll66's Discipline Details
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    Details
    Conveyor Design
    Using
    AutoCAD 2016
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    33

    Default

    After discussing further, I found out what he really wanted was to change from 11X17 to D-size. So we took BIGAL's suggestion and changed the plot scale which got him what he wanted. It would be nice though if AutoCAD would just scale everything up/down automatically when you change drawing size. At least give you the option. Thanks for the help.

  5. #5
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,375

    Default

    You could have just created (copy) another layout in the same drawing but specify a large paper size. Then I'd resize the viewports to fit and assign a new scale to each. Our master template has layout tabs for 8 1/2x11 (landscape and portrait), 11x17, 18x24, and 24x36.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  6. #6
    Full Member
    Computer Details
    jkoll66's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Computer:
    Alien
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    jkoll66's Discipline Details
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    Details
    Conveyor Design
    Using
    AutoCAD 2016
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    33

    Default

    Yes, but this drawing was from a client and we wanted to make it larger. It would be nice to be able to just change the size from 11x17 to "D" and have all of the viewports update to the new size.

  7. #7
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,375

    Default

    Yes, it would...in a perfect world but it ain't going to happen in real life because you are going from 11x17 up to 24x36 and if you compare 11 to 24 and 17 to 36 you'll see the ratios don't match. Imperial paper sizes aren't set up like metric paper sizes.

    OK...it just dawned on me. Many architects will use a 22x34 paper size instead of 24x36 because it makes it easy to shrink it down (by 50%) to fit on a 11x17. And vice-versa. It's a 2X enlargement to go from 11x17 to 22x34. You just happen to pick the wrong size to work with.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  8. #8
    Super Member
    Computer Details
    Ski_Me's Computer Details
    Computer:
    DELL (why oh lord must I suffer)
    Discipline
    Electrical
    Ski_Me's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Fire Alarm tech
    Discipline
    Electrical
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Edmond. OK
    Posts
    617

    Default

    Yeah your right so that's what they mean by oversized D or what ever size you use.

  9. #9
    Luminous Being
    Using
    Civil 3D 2016
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    GEELONG AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    9,737

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Imperial paper sizes aren't set up like metric paper sizes
    Metric does have that advantage of fold in half, fold in half etc.

    The double 11x17 to 22x34 reminds of the old BJ330 canon printer I have it does A4 A3 and undersize A2 as it controlled by the short edge but was way ahead at the time being able to do a larger than 11x17.
    A man who never made mistakes never made anything

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 18th Jun 2014, 04:32 am
  2. Layout tab's viewport scale box won't show standard scale menu.
    By macsee in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 9th Mar 2014, 01:36 pm
  3. ACADE - Layout viewports that do not scale.
    By ReMark in forum Electrical
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 3rd Oct 2012, 05:54 pm
  4. Layout with Multiple Viewports to DWG with the Viewports 'Flattened' Out
    By tkrejci in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 23rd Aug 2011, 08:45 pm
  5. Viewports on Layout tab
    By Cricket03 in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 27th Mar 2008, 04:08 pm

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts