+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Posts
    112

    Default Fit viewport to an object

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Hello everyone!

    I've a little question.. Is it possible to fit a viewport to an object?
    The scale has to be the same.

    I've recorded a little gif to show the behaviour I want to obtain.

    Have I to write a little lisp or there is a command in autocad?

    Thanks you for the help!
    Dennis
    Attached Images

  2. #2
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,496

    Default

    What's wrong with the way you have demonstrated above? I don't see that as being all that time consuming. On the other hand if you had an object shaped like that which I show below then I'd say it would be a bit (a tiny bit) more challenging but certainly not impossible.

    MakeMyVP.JPG
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  3. #3
    Super Member halam's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2017
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Posts
    646

    Default

    Maybe you should take a look at Viewport master
    It keeps (a visible) relastion between modelspace and paperspace.
    Works good for 2D work.


    http://u-cad.eu/apps/viewportmaster/
    Modelling is done with two hands, 2d & 3d. Let it work together..
    https://twitter.com/halammerts

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Posts
    112

    Default

    Hello! I've 7 papers with 3 (or more) objects to fit for every project I do..


    As you can see in the gif in the 1st post, the way I use is not very fluent
    Anyway I need a lisp, right?
    Attached Images

  5. #5
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,496

    Default

    Depends on your what you mean by the word "fit". I'm guessing you want nothing more than a rectangular viewport (smallest size possible) and not one that matches the outline of the object exactly. Is that correct?
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Posts
    112

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by halam View Post
    Maybe you should take a look at Viewport master
    It keeps (a visible) relastion between modelspace and paperspace.
    Works good for 2D work.


    http://u-cad.eu/apps/viewportmaster/
    Thanks for this!

    @ReMark yes, you're right!

    I use to draw the boundary of my objects (it's always a rectangle) in the model space in order to fit them.


    It will be very cool if there is a way to link the viewports to these rectangles in model space. Objects like the one in the gif can change over time..
    Ok, I'm asking too much
    Attached Images
    Last edited by MastroLube; 18th Oct 2016 at 11:54 am.

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Posts
    112

    Default

    WOW! the tool seems to be the answer to all!
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hIJ0XXuQHwc

  8. #8
    Luminous Being RobDraw's Avatar
    Using
    MEP 2017
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Connecticut, USA
    Posts
    5,169

    Default

    Since setting viewports to not plot is standard pretty much industry wide. I see no value to this at all.
    Drafting is a breeze.

  9. #9
    Luminous Being
    Using
    Civil 3D 2016
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    GEELONG AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    9,881

    Default

    You can pick two points work out centroid go to layout make a mview then use zoom c at a scale or if you want it to fit using a lisp. Manually why not viewport zoom c pick point, scale. or use zoom num/xp. You should have a pretty good idea of the scale required depending on the size of detail with experience.

    Just me I make viewport, zoom it to about full object required then I check the number in the "viewports toolbar" this tells me the current scale factor so I can adjust. eg if it says 9.82 then I would type 10 in box and it would be 1:100 exact (metric) and just slightly adjust the viewport border if required, but its true plot scale ie like Robdraw.
    A man who never made mistakes never made anything

  10. #10
    Forum Deity Dana W's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Dana W's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 8 64 bit
    Computer:
    Dell XPS ONE 2710
    Motherboard:
    Dunno
    CPU:
    Intel I-5 3330S @ 2.7 Ghz
    RAM:
    6 Gb
    Graphics:
    On board barely adequate
    Primary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte
    Secondary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte external
    Monitor:
    All in one 27" touch & pen
    Discipline
    Construction
    Dana W's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Architectural Millwork Designer/Draftsman
    Discipline
    Construction
    Details
    Custom commercial millwork.
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2018
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Oviedo, Florida
    Posts
    4,715

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Quote Originally Posted by RobDraw View Post
    Since setting viewports to not plot is standard pretty much industry wide. I see no value to this at all.
    Exactly. Draw the rectangle (frame) in modelspace or even paperspace if you must have one, then with your viewport on a no plot layer it doesn't matter where the viewport is, as long as all the unwanted model images don't show, and the wanted ones do. This is probably why AutoDesk has never rushed to make a viewport alignable with osnaps. There's no real point in it.
    The S197 gen Ford Mustang, and the F-4 Phantom both prove the same theory. "With enough power applied, a school bus will fly."

Similar Threads

  1. Object Reference Viewport
    By Kemphas in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 15th Jul 2015, 01:26 pm
  2. Hide Object in Viewport
    By kunekainen in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 24th Jun 2015, 02:41 pm
  3. Magnification of the object in viewport?
    By PElgin in forum 3D Modelling
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 28th Jun 2012, 12:08 pm
  4. object location due to viewport.
    By choco123 in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12th Jun 2008, 03:57 am
  5. Snapping to an object in a viewport...
    By VIC842 in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 12th Dec 2007, 05:33 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts