+ Reply to Thread
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 20 of 20
  1. #11
    Forum Deity
    Using
    AutoCAD 2002
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    East Sussex, U.K.
    Posts
    4,040

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Perhaps this particular pattern does not have a square repeatability.

    Does your tile swatch have to be a square?

    If you can post the hatch pattern, then someone could make a suggestion and provide a valid screen shot of what to do.

  2. #12
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,366

    Default

    Maybe the answer to your problem lies with trimming the original hatch pattern.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  3. #13
    Luminous Being RobDraw's Avatar
    Using
    MEP 2017
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Connecticut, USA
    Posts
    5,161

    Default

    I see two options.

    Make the pattern so that only full tiles and half tiles fit in the square.

    Make the square a size that only has full and half size tiles.

    In your example, look at the upper row and the right column. Eliminate the partial tiles by changing the scale of the pattern or the size of the square.
    Drafting is a breeze.

  4. #14
    Senior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    136

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ReMark View Post
    When you made your hatch pattern originally in AutoCAD did you specify the origin point? See lower left hand corner of the Hatch dialog box where it says "Hatch origin".
    Yes, I did specify the origin point as the lower left vertex of the 1x1 square tile.


    Quote Originally Posted by RobDraw View Post
    I see two options.

    Make the pattern so that only full tiles and half tiles fit in the square.

    Make the square a size that only has full and half size tiles.

    In your example, look at the upper row and the right column. Eliminate the partial tiles by changing the scale of the pattern or the size of the square.
    I made a grid of 3x3 = 9 squares of 1 unit length of each square.

    Then I hatched with some patterns with scale set = 1.

    I got what I wanted without any alignment. The hatch automatically placed the full pattern in between and a quarter on each corner of the 1x1 square tile so that I can easily export it.

    Then I got some stone hatches, see the right portion of the image. If I set their scale = 1, I got very very dense fills. Then I set the scale to 0.07 and I got a visible stone hatch. I even set their origin to the bottom left vertex of the top left square in the 9x9 grid but did not get what I wanted

    stonehatch_1.jpg

    Is there a smart way to force autocad to align the texture in the way that I want? I mean, an alignment just what you advised, full texture in the centre, and quarter portion of textures on every corner of the square tile.

  5. #15
    Forum Deity
    Using
    AutoCAD 2002
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    East Sussex, U.K.
    Posts
    4,040

    Default

    I think that AutoCAD patterns are not necessarily created for square repeatability. AutoCAD does not mind what shape is to be hatched.

    If you want a specific dimension in hatching, you would do better to write the hatch definition yourself.

    In the present case, because you only want a unit square, I think that it would be easier if you drew it out yourself. It is only a few lines!
    Attached Images

  6. #16
    Luminous Being RobDraw's Avatar
    Using
    MEP 2017
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Connecticut, USA
    Posts
    5,161

    Default

    Why not just draw what you need instead of trying to force a hatch to be seamlessly repeatable? Sure, you can probably find that magic scale where the hatch will do as you would like within the given parameters but the numbers you use for one hatch won't necessarily work for another. The best way to do that would be to dive into the hatch definition and reverse engineer it.
    Drafting is a breeze.

  7. #17
    Senior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    136

    Default

    I'm able to get the brick texture tile. I am unable to get the gravel texture tile as illustrated in the last posted screenshot.

    One more thing. What is the use of setting the origin point? It just changes the location of the texture, that's it. What has "origin" as in the "starting point" has got to do with this option?

    I want to export the hatch tile unit to Adobe Illustrator and make it as a pattern within Illustrator (pattern fills) instead of full hatched area which behaves as just linework and makes illustrator files heavy.

  8. #18
    Luminous Being RobDraw's Avatar
    Using
    MEP 2017
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Connecticut, USA
    Posts
    5,161

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by rock1 View Post
    I'm able to get the brick texture tile. I am unable to get the gravel texture tile as illustrated in the last posted screenshot.
    Again, you need to determine where the pattern starts repeating and set the scale so that length fits in the square or make the square fit the extent of the pattern before it starts repeating.
    Drafting is a breeze.

  9. #19
    Super Member
    Computer Details
    Ski_Me's Computer Details
    Computer:
    DELL (why oh lord must I suffer)
    Discipline
    Electrical
    Ski_Me's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Fire Alarm tech
    Discipline
    Electrical
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Edmond. OK
    Posts
    616

    Default

    What if you delete the square after you create the hatch then export it.

  10. #20
    Senior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    136

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Quote Originally Posted by Ski_Me View Post
    What if you delete the square after you create the hatch then export it.
    It doesn't work out either. The situation still remains the same in Illustrator.

Similar Threads

  1. Exports in Revit very slow
    By davebin in forum Revit General
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 1st Mar 2014, 09:44 pm
  2. AutoCAD Tip - Create a Seamless Wood Grain Hatch
    By Between the Lines in forum AutoCAD RSS Feeds
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 3rd Jun 2013, 05:50 pm
  3. Corrupt DWG exports from REVIT?
    By DWG Destroyer in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 26
    Last Post: 23rd Jan 2013, 03:24 pm
  4. PDF, JPEG High resolution exports
    By srichang in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 13th Sep 2012, 04:15 am
  5. Creating seamless maps & plot map sets
    By parnold in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2nd Feb 2007, 11:01 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts