Cannot edit!!!

slowsilver!

Hi,

I have been sent some AutoCad files but there are some 'objects' (lines & text) that I cannot edit - they just won't highlight when the cursor moves over them, but there are a few that I can. I've checked all layers to make sure that they're not locked or anything. Is there some other attribute I need to change? Any thoughts much appreciated.

Stephen,

Thanks for reply, but I've no idea what you mean! I'm totally new to AutoCad ('fraid I grew-up with TurboCad). Only got AutoCad to change text & line colours on drawings we're sent 'cause I and collegue are partially colour-blind and so many people seem to use yellow!

Hi Ho Slowsilver,

I ran off to do some experimentations, so I may have an answer for you.

If this is'nt it then I'm sure others will come up with the goods, just hang on a bit!

This site gets loads of keen users just bustin to help. It's a gas too!

An XRef is like a ghost drawing, brought into your current drawing for referencing. It acts like a block. Click any part of it and it highlights.

Passing your cursor over it is supposed to highlight it as well.

Only, in your case, it does'nt! LOL LOL LOL

So passing your cursor over certain entities fails to produce a highlighting effect.

OK! Check this out....

Go to TOOLS-OPTIONS-SELECTION TAB and hit the Visual Effect Settings bar.

In it you will see the Selection Preview Effect radio buttons & the Advanced Options bar. Hit this bar. In here you will find various options or filters to exclude certain entities from reacting to the passing over of your cursor.

Is your Xref ticked?

I suspect that some of the drawings you have been sent are acting as X reference drawings in other drawings.

OK! Check this out....

Go to INSERT-XREF MANAGER... and see if there is mention of names of drawings in here that you have received

Check this out….

Type in LIST and select the group of entities that do not highlight.