+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15
  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Norwalk, CT
    Posts
    109

    Wink Pf orthographic questions

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Hello, I am looking for some help on some projects I am doing for Penn Foster. They are Orthographic projections. I am trying to get the inside border of my layout to be 3/8th of an inch from the edge of the paper. For some reason the border looks to be about 3 inches from the edge. I'm basically trying to enlarge the viewport by making the border bigger or getting rid of it entirely. Also, do I scale the inside block of the three views, so I can see them closer? Thanks any help will do. The professors at pf would probably take a couple of weeks to answer, and I'm sure I would have to repeat the question and/or rephrase it. Here's a snapshot.

    borders.jpg

  2. #2
    Luminous Being Dadgad's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    At the confluence of worthlessness & invaluability
    Posts
    5,964

    Default

    It sounds like all you are trying to do is to GRIP stretch the corners of your viewport to fit a known rectangular dimension. You could create a closed polygon over the line representing the edge of your paper, then using the OFFSET command offset it can stretch your viewports corners to those points. Alternatively you could use the create viewport OBJECT functionality, and turn the offset line into a new viewport, right where you want it.
    Volume and repetition do not validate opinions forged in the absence of thought.

  3. #3
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,358

    Default

    The size of your viewport does not necessarily have to match the size of your border. For that matter you don't necessarily even have to have a single viewport. You could have four separate viewports if you wanted to.

    You knew the size of the paper you were going to be printing to. My question is, why didn't you draw your border to fit accordingly? It's like you drew your titleblock and border without regards to size at all. Is that the case here?

    BTW...

    What method did you use to create all the views? Are they 2D or 3D?

    Are you going to be dimensioning the objects in model space or paper space?

    Are you familiar with the "annotative scaling" feature as it pertains to dimensioning and text?
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Norwalk, CT
    Posts
    109

    Default

    Looks like that worked Dadgad. thank you

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Norwalk, CT
    Posts
    109

    Default

    ReMark: 1: they are 2D. 2: No dimensioning for the first two projects. 3: Yes I am familiar with the annotative scaling. PF gave me the dimensions they require for the text. I have since started over, and have made the projection I was looking for. There was an issue with the blocks, so I restarted a whole new project. Thanks. I'm sure I will have more questions to come. thanks guys.

  6. #6
    Luminous Being JD Mather's Avatar
    Using
    Inventor 2015
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Williamsport, PA
    Posts
    8,719

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by cosme017 View Post
    Looks like that worked Dadgad. thank you
    Let's back up a minute.
    Is your border in model space or in paper space
    Can you attach the file here?

    You knew the size of the paper you were going to be printing to. My question is, why didn't you draw your border to fit accordingly? It's like you drew your titleblock and border without regards to size at all.
    My guess is that the border is in modelspace and the entire paper space view is scaled.
    Certified SolidWorks Professional
    Autodesk Inventor 2015 Certified Professional
    Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Norwalk, CT
    Posts
    109

    Default

    The picture should show that it is in paper space. I started the project over and then i inserted the title block. Everything looks fine now. I've had a lot of trouble with this autocad. I had to reinstall it twice. The program is a 2010 student only edition, so PF must of saved a ton of money.

  8. #8
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,358

    Default

    Students are eligible to download, for free, the most current versions of many programs at the AutoDesk Educational Community website. 2014 is the latest release.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  9. #9
    Luminous Being JD Mather's Avatar
    Using
    Inventor 2015
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Williamsport, PA
    Posts
    8,719

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by cosme017 View Post
    The picture should show that it is in paper space...
    The picture shows paper space, it is not possible from a picture to determine whether border or geometry is in paper space or model space.
    Attach the file here. If you had attached your file to the original post you would have gotten complete and accurate information in the very first response.
    Certified SolidWorks Professional
    Autodesk Inventor 2015 Certified Professional
    Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Norwalk, CT
    Posts
    109

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Quote Originally Posted by ReMark View Post
    Students are eligible to download, for free, the most current versions of many programs at the AutoDesk Educational Community website. 2014 is the latest release.
    You know i joined the community, but i never got a chance to surf around on their site. Thank you, i will check it out. Do you know if the layout changes much and do you lose all your current work with the upgrade?

Similar Threads

  1. Orthographic to Isometric help
    By dantheman in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 2nd Nov 2012, 01:40 am
  2. Help with Orthographic Projection
    By Behemothrex in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 25th Aug 2012, 11:35 pm
  3. orthographic projections??
    By megamind in forum Student Project Questions
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 24th Feb 2012, 06:33 pm
  4. orthographic pan
    By qball in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 14th Mar 2007, 07:43 pm
  5. Orthographic to Isometric?
    By snowbelt in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 18th Jul 2005, 03:07 am

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts