New User

fattony

Hi

I'm new to CAD, my only use is to create zone plans for fire alarms and maybe add device numbers next to the smoke detectors etc, I have no intention to create a drawing from scratch at this stage.

I'm using AutoCad 2017 Student Version

I have a couple of questions

1) I have a template which I use for my zone plans, so I have a floor plan in another file, I'd like to copy the floor plan into my template but I cant work out how to do this, could anyone advise?

2) I must be missing something with the hatch tool, I select the pattern and the colour but when I move the cursor to create the hatch it either does nothing or fills the entire floor plan, what am I doing wrong?

Many Thanks

• Replies 21
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• fattony

• ReMark

• Cad64

• Ski_Me

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

You can insert the drawing of the floor plan into your new drawing and it will come in as a block. Explode the block if necessary to make edits.

Or, you can xref the floor plan into your new drawing.

Or, you can copy/paste the floor plan into your new drawing (you'll have to have the floor plan drawing open to do this).

Re: hatch problem. I think it would be best if you attached a copy of the floor plan drawing to your next post so we can have a look at it. Let us know what area(s) you want hatched and what pattern to apply so we can run our own test on the drawing. An image is of no value to us; it must be a .dwg file. Got it? Good. Do it. Experienced CAD techs are standing by to assist you. Don't disappoint.