Stepping into BIM: some (a lot) questions

freebutterflyx

(I don't know if this is the wright section to ask)

Our company is thinking of moving to a "BIM" style designing. Both our architectural en structural departement work in "normal" autocad. What we currectly do:

- architectural drawing (everything in 2D): plans + details

- structural drawing: overview + details (with the architecutal drawing as an XREF) - everything in 2D

- structural details of steel contructions (with some own (old) lisp routines)

- reinforcement drawings (with soms own (old) lisp routines)

Non of us has real experience with 3D BIM software. I have limited experience in 3D autocad and I have experience with 3D modeling in a calculation software. Some of us use Sketchup for a visual representation of the design, not for making the drawings.

Now our company is considering a swith to BIM software. Some of the older guys don't like the idea very much because they will need to learn a new software and because it is another way of working.

But the main question is: What do we need? I have no idea (also no idea yet if both departements will make the switch at the same time)

I think the basis is Autodesk Revit architectural and structural.

For "my" departement (strutural side of the design) I think with this we can make the basic structural drawings (floor levels with beams and columns, some details,...). Correct me if I'm wrong.

What about the layer structure we currently use?

But then...

what do we need to draw steel detail drawings? Autodesk advance steel?

What do we need to draw concrete reinforcement drawings (overview drawings, shop list of reinforcement,...)? Is this possible with Revit of do we need lets say Advanced concrete.

Can anyone give some advice of point us in a good directions.

• Replies 26
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• halam

• tzframpton

• freebutterflyx

• RobDraw

Just buy a bunch of sofware... ;-)

Not the answer I expected ...