+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Super Member
    Computer Details
    Sengna's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Window 7
    RAM:
    8 GB
    Using
    AutoCAD 2016
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    511

    Default How to show piping layout on Aerial photo from Google earth image

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    I just wondering if you can give me some suggestion or any tutorial about showing underground piping (CAD) on the aerial image from google earth. this is for the presentation purposes to show an idea of project. Appreciate any suggestion.

  2. #2
    Luminous Being
    Using
    Civil 3D 2016
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    GEELONG AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    9,815

    Default

    Only suggestion is play with the colour you use to show the piping, the background can fade out some colours, we use a variety 10 130 90. Also fade the image a bit say 30 this helps.
    A man who never made mistakes never made anything

  3. #3
    Super Member
    Computer Details
    Sengna's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Window 7
    RAM:
    8 GB
    Using
    AutoCAD 2016
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    511

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by BIGAL View Post
    Only suggestion is play with the colour you use to show the piping, the background can fade out some colours, we use a variety 10 130 90. Also fade the image a bit say 30 this helps.
    Hi Bigal, what is 10 130 90? All i am trying to do is that i want to show clear path of my pipeline on the site image (bird view) that from snap from google earth. I want to be able to use autocad to work with this image.

  4. #4
    Super Member
    Computer Details
    Sengna's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Window 7
    RAM:
    8 GB
    Using
    AutoCAD 2016
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    511

    Default

    i figured out how to insert the site plan raster image into autocad, i had my can drawing laid on the top of the image but i ran into this issue where all my line and objects were hidden under the image, how can i bring all my object to show on the top of the image?

  5. #5
    Luminous Being
    Using
    Civil 3D 2016
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    GEELONG AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    9,815

    Default

    Draworder send to back, the numbers are colour numbers 10 is red, 90 is green, 130 is blue. Do some home work on using georeferenced jpg's and Tiff's. This makes the image true size and at world co-ords.
    A man who never made mistakes never made anything

  6. #6
    Forum Newbie
    Discipline
    Utilities
    Using
    Map 3D 2017
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Posts
    8

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Sengna View Post
    I just wondering if you can give me some suggestion or any tutorial about showing underground piping (CAD) on the aerial image from google earth. this is for the presentation purposes to show an idea of project. Appreciate any suggestion.
    If your pipeline drawing is in real-world coordinates, there is a program called PlexEarth that will pull Google Earth imagery from that location and place background imagery in the geolocated coordinates. It costs a little bit to get going, but I have the basic package that was $99 and use it religiously. The Pro version will upload topography and create clear image mosaics from a zoomed out view... I used that for a while and absolutely loved it. One thing you have to remember though is that you have to use Draw Order to send the images behind the pipeline drawing layers, and you can lighten up the images with Image Adjust (just double click the image and it should automatically pop up). Hope this helps!

  7. #7
    Luminous Being
    Using
    Civil 3D 2016
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    GEELONG AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    9,815

    Default

    If you can get georefrenced images ie a JPG & JGW files then the rescale and move bit is free.
    A man who never made mistakes never made anything

  8. #8
    Forum Newbie
    Discipline
    Utilities
    Using
    Map 3D 2017
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Posts
    8

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by BIGAL View Post
    If you can get georefrenced images ie a JPG & JGW files then the rescale and move bit is free.
    Absolutely! The free route is the way to go most of the time, but I found the PlexEarth program to be very useful in more ways than just pulling background imagery and it's less time consuming, and since the company paid for my copy I use it as much as possible. Now if I was needing to do it on my personal PC, I wouldn't even think twice about going the free route!

  9. #9
    Senior Member lrm's Avatar
    Computer Details
    lrm's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 64-bit
    RAM:
    16 GB
    Discipline
    Education
    lrm's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Teacher, AEC and mechanical
    Discipline
    Education
    Details
    Civil and Mechanical
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    345

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Another approach would be to create a KML file that can be displayed in Google Earth. You can then adjust the Google Earth view to something you like and save an image of it.

    If you can get the latitude and longitude of piping corners you can create a simple file that shows the piping laying on the surface of the Earth. You can create the file in Notepad or another ASCII text editor.

    Here is an example of a kml file:

    Code:
    <?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
    <kml xmlns="http://earth.google.com/kml/2.2">
      <Document>
      <name>Sample-clamp-to-ground</name>
        <description>4/27/2017</description>
     <LookAt>
        <longitude>-72.373</longitude>
        <latitude>43.3232</latitude>
        <range>500.00000</range>
        <tilt>80.0000</tilt>
        <heading>10.0000</heading>
     </LookAt>
        <Style id="RedLineRedPoly">
          <LineStyle>
            <color>ff0000c8</color>
            <width>4</width>
          </LineStyle>
          <PolyStyle>
            <color>7f0000ff</color>
          </PolyStyle>
        </Style>
    <Placemark>
          <styleUrl>#RedLineRedPoly</styleUrl>
          <LineString>
            <tessellate>0</tessellate>
            <altitudeMode>clampToGround</altitudeMode>
            <coordinates> 
    -72.3722463380545,43.3210488874465,5
    -72.3742578212618,43.3209773898124,5
    -72.3752623474895,43.3208321275353,5
    -72.3727945145219,43.3260955144912,5
    -72.3722646944224,43.3264506887644,5
    -72.370936917141,43.3220796938985,5
         </coordinates>
        </LineString>
       </Placemark>
      </Document>
    </kml>
    Just replace the list of latitude and longitude coordinate in the above code with your coordinates. Also change the values in the LookAt section with values suitable to your location. These values determine the initial view of the data when you open the file in GE.
    I set the altitude mode to "clampToGround". This places the lines on the ground and ignores the altitude value. I tried using the absolute mode and setting a negative altitude but the lines would not show.
    GE-1.JPG
    Side note, I got into kml files years ago as a result of wanting to see my hang gliding flights in Google Earth. I've included a sample hang gliding flight from Mt. Ascutney in Vermont to Morningside Flight Park in NH.

    ~Lee
    Attached Files

Similar Threads

  1. Google Earth Image question
    By Tad_Thurston in forum Civil 3D & LDD
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 8th Jan 2013, 05:53 pm
  2. profile image from google earth
    By onkelbob in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 20th Feb 2012, 01:30 pm
  3. Image clipping of an aerial photo
    By chimene in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 20th May 2010, 02:35 pm
  4. google earth image
    By CCHESTER in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 27th Apr 2010, 08:54 pm
  5. Google earth image to AutoCad 2008 LT
    By waitung in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 23rd Dec 2009, 02:01 pm

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts