+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
  1. #1
    Full Member
    Computer Details
    Jessica28's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Discipline
    Electrical
    Jessica28's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD operator for Electrical Contractor
    Discipline
    Electrical
    Using
    MEP 2016
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    96

    Default creating layout views

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Hi,
    I am running AutoCAD MEP 2016...I am wondering if there is a way to make a viewport from model space that automatically appears in paperspace...Does that make sense?.....Basically I am working on floor plans and need to make individual sheets for every single room..


    Thanks, Jess

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2009
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    293

    Default

    automatically set view ports from model space ?
    http://www.cadtutor.net/forum/showth...om-model-space

  3. #3
    Luminous Being tzframpton's Avatar
    Computer Details
    tzframpton's Computer Details
    Computer:
    HP Zbook
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    tzframpton's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    BIM Specialist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Full Virtual Design and Construction BIM services for the MEP engineering and construction industries.
    Using
    Revit 2018
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Dallas, TX - USA
    Posts
    9,048

    Default

    Since you are using AutoCAD MEP, which has the Project Navigator, I would suggest looking into leveraging the power of Constructs, Views and Sheets... specifically the Views part which is what your inquiry is about:

    Autodesk Help:
    https://knowledge.autodesk.com/suppo...74A77-htm.html

    This has added benefits of syncing your views with the Project Navigator and in return it displays information correctly such as View Name, Scale, etc. Takes a bit getting used to but once you do it'll become an asset you can't live without.

    -TZ
    Tannar Z. Frampton ™ | Frampton & Associates, Inc.

  4. #4
    Full Member
    Computer Details
    Jessica28's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Discipline
    Electrical
    Jessica28's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD operator for Electrical Contractor
    Discipline
    Electrical
    Using
    MEP 2016
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    96

    Default

    Thanks for the info tzframpton.... I can see how the project navigator can be of use...Is there something quick and easy though...I'll get a floor plan and will be asked for a quick layout and cutouts for specific areas...It would be nice to just be able to create rectangles and polylines and have a command that turns them into sheets automatically...I've attached an image of a basic office layout in 2D which is what we work with mostly for this task...Right now what I have been doing is making all these rectangles and plines in layout on top of the overall viewport of the floor plan..Then copy it several times and do a VPclip for every one....Makes me crazy!! Lol....Could the project navigator really help for this?..


    maratovich..Thanks for the link. I clicked around that link and ran into a youtube video that looked like it created the viewport....Watching it on my phone though because I'm at work and company computers cant access youtube...Where would I get something like that to try out?


    Jess
    Attached Images

  5. #5
    Luminous Being tzframpton's Avatar
    Computer Details
    tzframpton's Computer Details
    Computer:
    HP Zbook
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    tzframpton's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    BIM Specialist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Full Virtual Design and Construction BIM services for the MEP engineering and construction industries.
    Using
    Revit 2018
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Dallas, TX - USA
    Posts
    9,048

    Default

    The option I gave you will not be the quick option. It's more for your larger projects that require a higher level of organization and tracking.

    -TZ
    Tannar Z. Frampton ™ | Frampton & Associates, Inc.

  6. #6
    Full Member
    Computer Details
    Jessica28's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Discipline
    Electrical
    Jessica28's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD operator for Electrical Contractor
    Discipline
    Electrical
    Using
    MEP 2016
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    96

    Default

    Yea, it seemed like the project browser would be a little time consuming for what we do..I will get a drawing and within 2 days draw something up and make the cutouts for the buys building....It would be nice if I could find a way to speed up the cut outs we need to make. I feel like it takes me more time to do that then to do the actual detailing of the rooms.


    Jess

  7. #7
    Luminous Being
    Using
    Civil 3D 2016
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    GEELONG AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    9,815

    Default

    A simple manual way

    In model space use ID pick a point about middle of view reuquired I cut paste to notepad (I have it on my windows taskbar) and paste then make it x,y copy again
    Make/copy layout with your title block have a mview created etc go to mspace Z E or zoom rough floor area required
    Then just Z C paste x,y 4xp

    The 4xp for me would centre the window at the point x,y at a scale of 1:250 as I am metric but the same can be done for feet.

    Yes you can put together a lisp that uses the same method. I have something but its part of a copyrighted package but will think about rewriting a generic one as so many recent posts ask for this but seem to produce a extremely complex solution rather than a quick and dirty solution. The one I have asks for the 5 views of an object top, front etc used for 3d house plans.
    A man who never made mistakes never made anything

  8. #8
    Luminous Being
    Using
    Civil 3D 2016
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    GEELONG AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    9,815

    Default

    This is quick and dirty and still needs a little bit of manual work at end drag mview, but will do 95% of whats required, based around having a known title block in a layout.

    Code:
    ; By Alan H Nov 2016 based on a metric answer.
    (DEFUN C:MVWIN ( / MP1 MP2 AND DIST PT SC3)
    (setvar "tilemode" 1)
    (setq mp1 (getpoint "\nLower left corner of window:"))
    (setq mp2 (getcorner mp1 "\nUpper right corner of window:"))
    (setq ang (angle mp1 mp2))
    (setq dist (distance mp1 mp2))
    
    (setq pt (polar mp1 ang (/ dist 2.0)))
    
    (setvar "tilemode" 0)
    (command "_.pspace")
    (command "_.ZOOM" "ALL")
    
    (initget 6 "Yes No")
    (setq ans (getkword "\nDoes mview exist? (Y/N)"))
    (if (/=  ans "Yes" )
    (princ)
    (progn
    (setq mp1 (getpoint "\nLower left corner of window:"))
    (setq mp2 (getcorner mp1 "\nUpper right corner of window:"))
    (command "_.mview" mp1 mp2)
    )
    )
    
    (command "_.mspace")
    (setq sc3 (strcat (RTOS (/ 1000.0 (getreal "\nScale for this window 1:  "))2 3 ) "XP"))
    
    (command "_.zoom" "_center" (strcat (rtos (nth 0 pt) 2 3) "," (rtos (nth 1 pt) 2 3)) sc3)
    )
    (C:MVWIN)
    A man who never made mistakes never made anything

  9. #9
    Luminous Being tzframpton's Avatar
    Computer Details
    tzframpton's Computer Details
    Computer:
    HP Zbook
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    tzframpton's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    BIM Specialist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Full Virtual Design and Construction BIM services for the MEP engineering and construction industries.
    Using
    Revit 2018
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Dallas, TX - USA
    Posts
    9,048

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Jessica28 View Post
    Yea, it seemed like the project browser would be a little time consuming for what we do..I will get a drawing and within 2 days draw something up and make the cutouts for the buys building....It would be nice if I could find a way to speed up the cut outs we need to make. I feel like it takes me more time to do that then to do the actual detailing of the rooms.


    Jess
    To be fair, you did post in the AutoCAD MEP section of the forum, which usually implies inquiries related specific to the added features of an Autodesk vertical product.



    -TZ
    Tannar Z. Frampton ™ | Frampton & Associates, Inc.

  10. #10
    Full Member
    Computer Details
    Jessica28's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Discipline
    Electrical
    Jessica28's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD operator for Electrical Contractor
    Discipline
    Electrical
    Using
    MEP 2016
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    96

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    thanks BIGAL. I tried that. I was hoping for something a little more automated....Too much wishful thinking I guess. : )


    tzframpton. The next time I have a question like this where should I post it? I started coming here more because someone mentioned I should because I'm running MEP. But I see your point. My question really isn't MEP related.

Similar Threads

  1. Creating Sectional views within a layout drawing
    By derek193 in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10th Jan 2014, 05:31 pm
  2. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 13th Jul 2010, 05:38 pm
  3. Copying Layout views
    By Jaseb in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 4th Oct 2009, 03:27 pm
  4. Layout views
    By visith in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 15th May 2006, 05:41 am
  5. Multiplie layout views
    By visith in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 15th May 2006, 05:36 am

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts