+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    Senior Member MillerMG's Avatar
    Computer Details
    MillerMG's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Computer:
    OPTIPLEX 3020
    CPU:
    Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-4570 CPU @ 3.30GHz
    RAM:
    8.0 GB
    Monitor:
    The two in front of me. Dude, I got Dell's
    Discipline
    Civil
    MillerMG's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CADD Drafter
    Discipline
    Civil
    Using
    Civil 3D 2017
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Fredericksburg, VA
    Posts
    436

    Default MTEXT Rotates while I edit

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    I have searched all over for the answer to this but with no success. When I am in my VP and double-click the MTEXT it stays horizontal. Then when I type any letter or spacebar it rotates to East. My VP is rotated with North pointing NW. I have tried MTEXTFIXED I have tried MTEXTFIXED . When I try to change to OldEditor it says that it cannot acknowledge the font, which is Hand. Hand is our special type of font that we use. How on earth do I get the text to stay horizontal while editing? I can't remember her name Lynn or something, said that its frustrating standing on your head to edit text. As always, any and all help/comments are welcome. Thank you.

    Miller

  2. #2
    Senior Member MillerMG's Avatar
    Computer Details
    MillerMG's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Computer:
    OPTIPLEX 3020
    CPU:
    Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-4570 CPU @ 3.30GHz
    RAM:
    8.0 GB
    Monitor:
    The two in front of me. Dude, I got Dell's
    Discipline
    Civil
    MillerMG's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CADD Drafter
    Discipline
    Civil
    Using
    Civil 3D 2017
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Fredericksburg, VA
    Posts
    436

    Default

    I forgot to add that the UCS is set to world

  3. #3
    Luminous Being Dadgad's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    At the confluence of worthlessness & invaluability
    Posts
    5,965

    Default

    Sounds like you will have already seen this from SYSVDLG, I am using 2013, but if you haven't it should help you.
    Due diligence.
    Attached Images
    Volume and repetition do not validate opinions forged in the absence of thought.

  4. #4
    Senior Member MillerMG's Avatar
    Computer Details
    MillerMG's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Computer:
    OPTIPLEX 3020
    CPU:
    Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-4570 CPU @ 3.30GHz
    RAM:
    8.0 GB
    Monitor:
    The two in front of me. Dude, I got Dell's
    Discipline
    Civil
    MillerMG's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CADD Drafter
    Discipline
    Civil
    Using
    Civil 3D 2017
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Fredericksburg, VA
    Posts
    436

    Default

    I saw that from one of your old post. I believe it was you that posted this. I tried Each different setting and no success with any setting. Thank you DADGAD

  5. #5
    Luminous Being Dadgad's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    At the confluence of worthlessness & invaluability
    Posts
    5,965

    Default

    It sounded like you'd been there and done that, but was still worth a shot, not sure why one of these numerous configurations wouldn't get you squared away.
    Sorry to hear that it didn't do the trick.

    It sounds like the UCS is the bug in the ointment, since your viewport is rotated.
    Volume and repetition do not validate opinions forged in the absence of thought.

  6. #6
    Senior Member MillerMG's Avatar
    Computer Details
    MillerMG's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Computer:
    OPTIPLEX 3020
    CPU:
    Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-4570 CPU @ 3.30GHz
    RAM:
    8.0 GB
    Monitor:
    The two in front of me. Dude, I got Dell's
    Discipline
    Civil
    MillerMG's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CADD Drafter
    Discipline
    Civil
    Using
    Civil 3D 2017
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Fredericksburg, VA
    Posts
    436

    Default

    Couldn't agree more. It is VERY frustrating Oh well, thank goodness for CADTutor though. Don't know what I would do without you guys helping me out. Thanks again for taking the time to try and assist me boss man. Hopefully someone else has some input on the matter.

  7. #7
    Luminous Being Dadgad's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    At the confluence of worthlessness & invaluability
    Posts
    5,965

    Default

    Still thinking about this one.
    Did you happen to see this, as it may shed some light.
    It is from the latest of the similar threads shown at the bottom of this post.

    I have noticed 1 other factor in this scenario that I fought for 2years before I figured it out. The Mleader was created while a certain linetype was being used, set linetype to continuous and fixed. Set mtextfixed to 2. I have only had this problem with mleaders though, not just a mtext.

    Have you tried reorienting your UCS to compensate for the rotation of the viewport?
    Volume and repetition do not validate opinions forged in the absence of thought.

  8. #8
    Senior Member Spaj's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Spaj's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Win 7
    Motherboard:
    ASUS P5K
    CPU:
    Intel E8400
    RAM:
    4096Mb
    Graphics:
    MSI Nvidia GTX660 2GB
    Primary Storage:
    OCZ RevoDrive 128GB
    Secondary Storage:
    WD Black 1TB
    Monitor:
    Samsung 27" LCD
    Discipline
    Civil
    Using
    Civil 3D 2016
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    144

    Default

    Hi

    Have you tried changing the font style? See thread below. We had some issues with older .DWGs (2009) doing something similar until we redefined the font style.

    http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/autoca...s/td-p/2410927

  9. #9
    Luminous Being Dadgad's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    At the confluence of worthlessness & invaluability
    Posts
    5,965

    Default

    Spaj, well done, that certainly sounds promising, I hope it works for Miller.
    I hope nobody is offended, I have copied and pasted in the part which seemed the most relevant, from Spaj's link.

    naandra
    Post 4 of 5

    Re: Mtext Editor Rotates mtext from 0 to 270 degrees

    01-22-2009 02:26 PM in reply to: roberts189
    I had the same problem with mtext rotating 270 degrees. It was in a drawing that had been created in an earlier version of AutoCAD, then opened and saved in AutoCAD Civil 3D 2008. Here's the fix we finally stumbled on:

    The mtext was set to style "Standard". The text style Standard was using the font "@Arial Unicode MS". Modifiying the text style to use the "Arial" font fixed the problem.
    3 Kudos
    Volume and repetition do not validate opinions forged in the absence of thought.

  10. #10
    Senior Member MillerMG's Avatar
    Computer Details
    MillerMG's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Computer:
    OPTIPLEX 3020
    CPU:
    Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-4570 CPU @ 3.30GHz
    RAM:
    8.0 GB
    Monitor:
    The two in front of me. Dude, I got Dell's
    Discipline
    Civil
    MillerMG's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CADD Drafter
    Discipline
    Civil
    Using
    Civil 3D 2017
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Fredericksburg, VA
    Posts
    436

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Good Morning Guys,

    I just got in to the office and saw the email. Thank you for the replies. I will get right back to this as soon as I get this one project out the door that needs to go to the county today. Much appreciated!!! Really excited to try and see if what yall had to say

Similar Threads

  1. Text rotates in MTEXT while editing
    By Uomoviso in forum AutoCAD 2D Drafting, Object Properties & Interface
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 12th Sep 2017, 06:42 pm
  2. Edit Mtext via LISP
    By jmerch in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 44
    Last Post: 25th Feb 2011, 06:32 pm
  3. Edit Field using MText
    By matt89brooks in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 28th Dec 2010, 01:42 pm
  4. mtext edit is too light
    By fle in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 6th Aug 2010, 04:47 pm
  5. Edit Text In Mtext
    By naghshe in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 4th Oct 2008, 06:56 pm

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts