+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Full Member StArchitect's Avatar
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Using
    AutoCAD 2016
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Location
    Toronto,ON Canada
    Posts
    39

    Default Problem Finding Area for Some Hatches

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    I have hatched complex shapes, made sure the lines are Polylines and that they are all joined so that there were no gaps. The problem is when I try to find the AREA of some of the hatched shapes. AutoCAD does not identify some of the hatches as an OBJECT which is the way I know how to find the areas of hatches.

  2. #2
    Luminous Being
    Using
    Civil 3D 2016
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    GEELONG AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    9,881

    Default

    Post a dwg with problem hatches.
    A man who never made mistakes never made anything

  3. #3
    Full Member StArchitect's Avatar
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Using
    AutoCAD 2016
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Location
    Toronto,ON Canada
    Posts
    39

    Default

    My dwg is too large for cadtutor to upload... I tried to make it as small as possible, turned out to be about 4 MB and cadtutor only allows 1 MB....why?

  4. #4
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,496

    Default

    Then upload it to a file sharing website like DropBox and post a link to the drawing here instead.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  5. #5
    Full Member StArchitect's Avatar
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Using
    AutoCAD 2016
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Location
    Toronto,ON Canada
    Posts
    39

    Default

    https://1drv.ms/u/s!AkjMeI7sVx-ykg2NXBO03XJwVpxd

    The green line going through sections indicates the hatches that dont want to show their areas.

  6. #6
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,496

    Default

    I think some of the underlying geometry might be the culprit. In one of the suspect rectangles I copied off to the side, after freezing the layer the hatch pattern was on, I noticed some "extra" lines going off at odd angles.

    Upon closer examination I've also found....

    1. Lines that extend past the ends of lines that they are supposed to connect to.
    2. Gaps where two lines should meet.
    3. Lines on top of lines (i.e. - duplicate and in same case triplicate lines). Using OVERKILL AutoCAD returned 824 duplicate objects and an astounding 18,192 overlapping objects. I think that might be a record.
    4. Overlapping lines (where a portion of one line runs over the next line that follows it).
    5. Portions of boundary lines missing.
    Last edited by ReMark; 7th Dec 2016 at 06:29 pm.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  7. #7
    Full Member StArchitect's Avatar
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Using
    AutoCAD 2016
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Location
    Toronto,ON Canada
    Posts
    39

    Default

    Thanks I thought I had all the lines joined... i was tracing a map and it was drawn carelessly before and Im trying to get it organized and find the total area of the hardscape. I started off by tracing it by using BOUNDARY command but that took too long and so I started redrawing it with some of the lines found with BOUNDARY command.

  8. #8
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,496

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    You might be able to utilize the REGION and SUBTRACT commands to arrive at the areas of some of the rectangles with the green lines through them. Here is an example using a small portion of one of the troublesome rectangles.

    RegionAreaExample.JPG

    First I closed any gaps in the linework. Then I fixed an error in the spline where you see the letter "X" near the top. I ran the REGION command and windowed all the geometry. Three regions were created. I subtracted each of the two smaller regions marked with the letter "X" one at a time using the SUBTRACT command.

    The area prior to subtraction was 1126.80; after subtraction it dropped to 1075.61.

    One benefit to using regions is you wouldn't have to hatch anything; less overhead (i.e. - smaller file size).

    Update. Well I got my Region idea to work in one location but it failed miserably in another so I'd say it's a bust. Back to the drawingboard I guess.
    Last edited by ReMark; 7th Dec 2016 at 07:55 pm.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

Similar Threads

  1. Finding Area of 2D gear face
    By cpascual in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 27th Jul 2010, 03:17 am
  2. Lisp - Area from hatches
    By bagulhodoido in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 6th Oct 2009, 07:14 pm
  3. Finding the area of a 2D object
    By BrianStoiber in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 20th Apr 2009, 10:35 am
  4. Area of hatches
    By P_c in forum AutoCAD 2D Drafting, Object Properties & Interface
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12th Jun 2008, 09:17 am
  5. HOW CAN I SUM AREA VALUES OF HATCHES
    By Zone in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 6th Oct 2005, 02:20 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts