+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Using
    Inventor 2010
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    10

    Default create a random hatch

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    hi there
    can anyone help
    i am trying to achieve a random round hatch pattern as pdf attached using 5 different size holes, the attached pdf shows the part being 200 x150
    and i need to achieve that but on a bigger scale to be 1500 x 600 with same size holes
    any ideas?

    thanks
    Attached Files

  2. #2
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,504

    Default

    What program are you doing this in?
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Using
    Inventor 2010
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    10

    Default

    im drawing up in autocad, but main aim is to load it into peps to create a cnc punch program

  4. #4
    Super Member
    Computer Details
    Ski_Me's Computer Details
    Computer:
    DELL (why oh lord must I suffer)
    Discipline
    Electrical
    Ski_Me's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Fire Alarm tech
    Discipline
    Electrical
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Edmond. OK
    Posts
    619

    Default

    Does a cnc read a hatch pattern?

  5. #5
    Luminous Being RobDraw's Avatar
    Using
    MEP 2017
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Connecticut, USA
    Posts
    5,169

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by richyrich0000 View Post
    hi there
    can anyone help
    i am trying to achieve a random round hatch pattern
    FYI, by definition, a pattern cannot be random.
    Drafting is a breeze.

  6. #6
    Luminous Being
    Using
    Civil 3D 2016
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    GEELONG AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    9,901

    Default

    It can be done and has been asked before using a random number generator for the x,y position then check if new circle touches an existing circle if so skip and in your case change circle size and continue, just need a limit to a repeating defun so the area is filled.

    Do a search using random, pretty sure I posted some code.
    A man who never made mistakes never made anything

  7. #7
    Super Member nukecad's Avatar
    Computer Details
    nukecad's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Win 10 home.
    Computer:
    Various machines.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2000i
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    NW Cumbria (English Lake District)
    Posts
    702

    Default

    Are you thinking of this one BIGAL? (I remembered it was for the LISA telescope which made it easy to search).
    Looks like it could be a start anyway.
    http://www.cadtutor.net/forum/showth...ly-spaced-dots

    I seem to also remember another one that had random different sized holes drilled through a block at different angles??
    *** Out of Beer Error ->-> Recovering Memory***

  8. #8
    Luminous Being
    Using
    Civil 3D 2016
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    GEELONG AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    9,901

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Thanks nukecad thats the one I had in mind. Never got around to stage 2 check for overlapping, also need keep changing radius.
    A man who never made mistakes never made anything

Similar Threads

  1. Custom Hatch with Random Line Spacing
    By Clinehud in forum The CUI, Hatches, Linetypes, Scripts & Macros
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 10th Jul 2017, 05:11 pm
  2. random pc3 file changing to random plotter
    By halfcracked in forum AutoCAD Bugs, Error Messages & Quirks
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 27th Mar 2013, 11:02 pm
  3. create a hatch
    By platinum home in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 22nd Nov 2011, 08:44 am
  4. Random Stone Hatch
    By Simple153 in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 18th Apr 2009, 02:02 am
  5. How to create a new hatch?
    By myself in forum AutoCAD 2D Drafting, Object Properties & Interface
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 23rd Jul 2008, 06:14 am

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts