+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Forum Newbie
    Discipline
    Construction
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Posts
    3

    Default Reinforced concrete beam annotation and calcs

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Hi all,

    I'm in my first year of a Construction Management degree, and we have a portfolio task which requires me to do the following:

    1. In Model space, dimension and fully annotate the reinforced concrete beam in accordance with current industry conventions. You are free to use layers, colours, line weights and linetypes in Model space as you see fit although your final submission should be monochrome.

    2. In Paper space, create a single bordered A3 layout displaying: a) the dimensioned and annotated elevation view to a scale of 1:20 and b) the dimensioned and annotated section views to a scale of 1:10 on the university template.

    3. Calculate, showing all your workings, the number, size and length for each shape of reinforcing bar and the total length of steel bar of each diameter. Your results must be neatly tabulated.

    The tutor has not taught us how to use Autocad, and has expected us to complete this. I wanted to know whether you CAD gods out there can help me?

    I have attached all the files

    PT 02 Editing and Extracting Information.pdf PT 02 Drawing.dwg ARU_ISOA3_bdrPDF.dwg

  2. #2
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,359

    Default

    Forgive me but it almost seems as though you are asking someone to volunteer to do the project for you. Is that the case?

    If you're just looking for suggestions then I have a few.

    1. Visit a website called mycadsite.com and go through the tutorials. This will form your basis of knowledge as far as AutoCAD is concerned.

    2. Learn all you can about the use of annotative scaling (text and dimensions).

    3. Learn all you can about the use of paper space layouts and viewports (ex. - how scales are assigned and how to lock the display). Here is a link to a thread I created entitled "Thing You Should Know About Viewports."

    http://www.cadtutor.net/forum/showth...viewport+scale

    When is the project due?
    Last edited by ReMark; 13th Dec 2016 at 12:39 pm.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  3. #3
    Forum Newbie
    Discipline
    Construction
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Posts
    3

    Default

    Hi remark,

    Thanks for your reply.
    No apologies, I want to learn how to do it myself. I have attempted to do it myself, I will have to attach later as I'' not by my computer. The project is due in next Monday and is one task of 6 portfolio tasks. All others are completed, but it is this one I am really struggling with this one.

    Kind Regards,
    Adam

  4. #4
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,359

    Default

    So you basically have six days in which to do this. Well I could offer one piece of advice that might save you some time. You could put all of your text and dimensions in your layout. The upside is all of it would be done in real world size meaning if you wanted your text to be 2.5mm that is the size you specify. The one thing you should do however is make sure your dimensions are "associative" which is NOT the same as "annotative". The downside is you may have to label or dimension some entities twice since you'll have more than one viewport showing the same objects at different scales.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  5. #5
    Forum Newbie
    Discipline
    Construction
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Posts
    3

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Quote Originally Posted by ReMark View Post
    So you basically have six days in which to do this. Well I could offer one piece of advice that might save you some time. You could put all of your text and dimensions in your layout. The upside is all of it would be done in real world size meaning if you wanted your text to be 2.5mm that is the size you specify. The one thing you should do however is make sure your dimensions are "associative" which is NOT the same as "annotative". The downside is you may have to label or dimension some entities twice since you'll have more than one viewport showing the same objects at different scales.
    Hi Remark,

    I've now attached what I have done so far.
    I would appreciate it if you could tell me where I have done right or wrong, and suggest what I should need to change.


    Task 2 Actual.dwg Portfolio Task 2 – Workings.docx

    Kind Regards,

    Adam

Similar Threads

  1. any one have concrete dtails stairs slab beam lisp
    By musab in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 31st Jan 2010, 06:35 pm
  2. Cut/Fill calcs (Non CAD)
    By spittle in forum Civil 3D & LDD
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 19th Jan 2010, 01:10 am
  3. Cut beam with beam Radiused/Straight Beams
    By mattbarb in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 4th Apr 2008, 04:42 pm
  4. Reinforced Concrete
    By richjamesw in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 1st Feb 2008, 02:19 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts