+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Full Member
    Discipline
    Manufacture
    neondeon298's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Specialist / NDT
    Discipline
    Manufacture
    Using
    AutoCAD 2017
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Posts
    38

    Default Annotative Text always bolder then paper space text

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Using 2017. I think it is safe to assume that because I use annotative scaling for my text in viewports (trying to keep all text at 0.1" tall on actual paper) that it is causing this issue... but every text (whether dimension or mtext) is bolder then my text on paper space.

    Is there a tweak to correct this? Elevations are all 0. No it is not selected Bold and I am using Tahoma and the same exact Text Style (probably the issue, pixels can't print correctly using this font).

    Ultimate goal is for all text to be the same paper height no matter what scale the viewport is set at. I don't wanna change fonts because my manager will lose her ****. So if there is a way to make sure all text prints at the same height without using annotative scaling then please let me.

    I've attached an example but I had to delete a lot of proprietary stuff.
    Attached Files

  2. #2
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,503

    Default

    You could simply put all dimensions and text in your layout and leave only the geometry in model space.

    What do the model and layout text look like when printed?
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  3. #3
    Full Member
    Discipline
    Manufacture
    neondeon298's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Specialist / NDT
    Discipline
    Manufacture
    Using
    AutoCAD 2017
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Posts
    38

    Default

    I wanted to do that myself. But my company doesn't like that. When I print you can see a difference between text that was in model (scaled in paper due to annotation) and text that was placed only in paper space. Paper is more clean, where as model seems to resemble an anti-alias issue.

  4. #4
    Super Member
    Computer Details
    Ski_Me's Computer Details
    Computer:
    DELL (why oh lord must I suffer)
    Discipline
    Electrical
    Ski_Me's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Fire Alarm tech
    Discipline
    Electrical
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Edmond. OK
    Posts
    619

    Default

    I see where your using annotative text in paper space but the text in model space is not annotative. The whole purpose of annotative text and objects is to maintain a consistent in paper space when you place annotations in model space. I messed around with the drawing and came to no conclusions as of yet (autocad crashed because of multiple viewport on one page, it's me not you) might be because of resolution or the fact that scaling up text has that effect on it not sure.

  5. #5
    Super Member
    Computer Details
    Ski_Me's Computer Details
    Computer:
    DELL (why oh lord must I suffer)
    Discipline
    Electrical
    Ski_Me's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Fire Alarm tech
    Discipline
    Electrical
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Edmond. OK
    Posts
    619

    Default

    Did a search and Autodesk states that this is a bug issue with no solution. This was back in 2013 there may be a fix but I didn't see anything.

  6. #6
    Senior Member ammobake's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ammobake's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64bit
    Computer:
    HP 2240 SFF Workstation
    Motherboard:
    HP
    CPU:
    Intel Xeon CPU E3-1225 v5 @ 3.30ghz, 3.30ghz
    RAM:
    18 GB RAM
    Graphics:
    Nvidia NVS 510
    Primary Storage:
    Confidential
    Secondary Storage:
    Confidential
    Monitor:
    4 total (2 - 27 in monitors below, 2- 22 in monitors on top)
    Discipline
    Construction
    ammobake's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Drafting & Architecutural Design (gov/military)
    Discipline
    Construction
    Using
    AutoCAD 2017
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Fairbanks, Alaska
    Posts
    201

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    One option would be to experiment with tweaking the text widths and offset distances (if mtext). So you could at least somewhat simulate the standard non-annotative tahoma text.

    If you're using a CTB (color-dependant) plot style you could also customize the CTB so it doesn't plot a specific text color quite so thick (and make annotative text that color).

    In more straightforward terms, the end-result can more closely match the non-annotative text elsewhere in your drawing so it doesn't look like it's bold/darker than the rest.

    So if the bug is the cause, there are probably ways to at least work around it a little bit.

    Also make sure you don't have additional lineweights added to your text in the properties. I doubt it would be an issue but who knows? Might be something to check.

    -ChriS

Similar Threads

  1. Lisp for remove text in model space from paper space
    By gmmdinesh in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 3rd Oct 2016, 08:13 pm
  2. Annotative Text - Paper Space, Model Space, Style Relationships?
    By dal-designs in forum AutoCAD 2D Drafting, Object Properties & Interface
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 6th Oct 2014, 02:17 pm
  3. Vertical dimension text gets bolder than all other text when scaled down!
    By ItsChrisRay in forum AutoCAD 2D Drafting, Object Properties & Interface
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 5th Mar 2013, 01:53 pm
  4. Acad 2010 - Text size changes in model space behave as if in paper space.
    By Trickinitup in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 7th Sep 2011, 03:44 am
  5. Same text from model space to paper space and auto update
    By Ohnoto in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 15th Jul 2010, 06:48 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts