+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    Solidworks 2012
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Posts
    5

    Question re-build error on fill

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Hi

    I am new to solidworks and I have a part that at full scale is fine but when I scale it to 1/48 scale holes appear. So I then use the fill command which works great except for 2 holes where it flags up rebuild errors?

    I will post the part and the error messages later.

    Thanks

    Tim

  2. #2
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    Solidworks 2012
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Posts
    5

    Default

    It won't allow me to insert the file as its too large but here is a screenshot.

    I can fill two sides but not the other two. When the part is fullsize its fine?

    Thanks

    Tim

    rebuild-error.jpg

  3. #3
    Forum Deity shift1313's Avatar
    Using
    not applicable
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    VA
    Posts
    3,249

    Default

    If its fine at full size but gone when scaled down then it is most likely a graphics issue. It happens sometimes based on geometry and your system specs. Can you click on that face even though it looks gone?

    The error likely means that one of your edges likely doesn't meet up with the others. There could be a tiny face where you added a chamfer or something. One thing you can do is right click on one of the edges and "select open loop" and see what happens.
    Matt - Certified Solidworks Expert -Advanced Surfacing, Mold Tool and Sheet Metal Specialist
    Current Software: SolidWorks17,Mastercam2017, fusion360, Inventor 2017, HSMworksUltimate
    http://www.solidbox.tv Free and Paid Tutorials for Solidworks, Mastercam and Fusion360
    http://www.mysolidbox.com/ CAD and CAM optimized workstations and laptops

  4. #4
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    Solidworks 2012
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Posts
    5

    Default

    Thank you for the reply.

    When I click on the face I get a + symbol and the edges are highlighted in blue, I will try what you said and see what happens.

  5. #5
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    Solidworks 2012
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Posts
    5

    Default

    This is what happened when I selected the edge that was having the problem with Select Loop

    loop.jpg

    Thanks

    Tim

  6. #6
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    Solidworks 2012
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Posts
    5

    Default

    Hi Matt,

    I selected Fix Up Boundary and have managed to solve it myself.

    Thank you very much for all your help!

    Tim

  7. #7
    Forum Deity shift1313's Avatar
    Using
    not applicable
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    VA
    Posts
    3,249

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Thats great tim! One thing you might want to do after is go to your Evaluate tab or the View menu and do an analysis on the surface. In Solidworks you can go to either View>Display>Curvature or go to the Evaluate Tab and select Curvature. If the surface is flat(planar) it will be black which means no curvature. if "fix up boundary" had to do some funky stuff in a corner, likely against the edge you showed, you will see some color deviations. This means you don't have a nice flat surface. Most of the time the fix up boundary option is used to either extend or trim one of the boundary edges. There are plenty of other little tricks that could make this work. If you can share the file with me i am happy to take a look at why it didn't work initially.
    Matt - Certified Solidworks Expert -Advanced Surfacing, Mold Tool and Sheet Metal Specialist
    Current Software: SolidWorks17,Mastercam2017, fusion360, Inventor 2017, HSMworksUltimate
    http://www.solidbox.tv Free and Paid Tutorials for Solidworks, Mastercam and Fusion360
    http://www.mysolidbox.com/ CAD and CAM optimized workstations and laptops

Similar Threads

  1. New Autodesk Memento Oct 2015 Build (Windows version, build 1.5.0.30)
    By Between the Lines in forum AutoCAD RSS Feeds
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 4th Nov 2015, 07:30 am
  2. help - ugly gray fill instead of white fill
    By rock1 in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 27th Oct 2011, 02:37 pm
  3. New Build - Needs help.
    By jbgraphic in forum Hardware & Operating Systems
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 26th Sep 2011, 08:08 pm
  4. PC build help
    By Grayham in forum Hardware & Operating Systems
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 19th Mar 2009, 02:24 am
  5. How do i build walls?
    By Speedy in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 18th Nov 2006, 04:19 pm

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts