+ Reply to Thread
Page 3 of 7 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 ... LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 62
  1. #21
    Forum Deity
    Using
    AutoCAD 2002
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    East Sussex, U.K.
    Posts
    4,039

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    To try and help you, it would be simple if you could post a drawing.

    Start a new drawing from Scratch, with your chosen default settings of English (feet and inches) or Metric. Draw one line with your chosen linetype and post that drawing.

  2. #22
    Full Member
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Posts
    95

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by eldon View Post
    To try and help you, it would be simple if you could post a drawing.

    Start a new drawing from Scratch, with your chosen default settings of English (feet and inches) or Metric. Draw one line with your chosen linetype and post that drawing.
    Attached is a drawing.
    The global LTSCALE is set as 1
    There is a line drawn with "HIDDEN" for linetype under layer name Layer1. This line's linetype scale is change to 10 in the properties palette, so that the hidden line is more obvious.

    If I draw another line using Layer1, the linestype scale will always be 1.

    Now, what keyboard command/system variable/LISP to use such that every line drawn its linestype scale will always be 10?
    To repeat, I am not talking about Global LTSCALE which MUST stay as 1
    Attached Files

  3. #23
    Forum Deity David Bethel's Avatar
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    David Bethel's Discipline Details
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Commercial Food Service
    Using
    AutoCAD pre 2000
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Newport News, Virginia
    Posts
    2,513

    Default

    You might want to look into CELTSCALE. -David
    R12 (Dos) - A2K

  4. #24
    Forum Deity
    Using
    AutoCAD 2002
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    East Sussex, U.K.
    Posts
    4,039

    Default

    Unfortunately, your drawing was not started from scratch. It had 13 registered applications, and even when I converted it to my version, I kept on getting ARX_ERROR on the command line.

    The linetype that I saw was HIDDEN2 which is half the spacing of HIDDEN.

    But I think that David Bethel has nailed it with CELTSCALE.

    Or even write your own linetype definition.

  5. #25
    Full Member
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Posts
    95

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by David Bethel View Post
    You might want to look into CELTSCALE. -David
    Oh thank god. This is what I was searching for. David.

  6. #26
    Forum Deity David Bethel's Avatar
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    David Bethel's Discipline Details
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Commercial Food Service
    Using
    AutoCAD pre 2000
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Newport News, Virginia
    Posts
    2,513

    Default

    You are welcome.

    CECOLOR and CELTYPE have been around a long time

    There are some newer CE* sysvars that I know very little about.

    -David
    R12 (Dos) - A2K

  7. #27
    Full Member
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Posts
    95

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by eldon View Post
    Unfortunately, your drawing was not started from scratch. It had 13 registered applications, and even when I converted it to my version, I kept on getting ARX_ERROR on the command line.

    The linetype that I saw was HIDDEN2 which is half the spacing of HIDDEN.

    But I think that David Bethel has nailed it with CELTSCALE.

    Or even write your own linetype definition.
    That drawing I created by clicking new. So not sure why you had that error message.

  8. #28
    Luminous Being RobDraw's Avatar
    Using
    MEP 2017
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Connecticut, USA
    Posts
    5,161

    Default

    Yeah, this is a case of CAD gone bad. It sounds like you got some good advice here. I was going to suggest that you use COPY or ADDSELECTED so that you wouldn't have to continuously change properties after drawing. From your description, I'd want to redo the standards from the ground up in order to create a more friendly drawing environment.
    Drafting is a breeze.

  9. #29
    Full Member
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Posts
    95

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by David Bethel View Post
    You are welcome.

    CECOLOR and CELTYPE have been around a long time

    There are some newer CE* sysvars that I know very little about.

    -David
    Thanks David. That is helpful as well.

  10. #30
    Full Member
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Posts
    95

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Quote Originally Posted by RobDraw View Post
    Yeah, this is a case of CAD gone bad. It sounds like you got some good advice here. I was going to suggest that you use COPY or ADDSELECTED so that you wouldn't have to continuously change properties after drawing. From your description, I'd want to redo the standards from the ground up in order to create a more friendly drawing environment.
    Yep. David understood what I was asking. But just curious, base on what David had suggested, did you or those who read my post understood my 2nd part of my query on the keyboard command or you misunderstood my query?
    Cause if its due to me being not clear enough, I need to see how to correct in future.

    Still, thanks to all for all the advise to me.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 18th Jan 2011, 12:06 am
  2. how can i change linetype scale for dashed lines to make the visible?
    By michael256 in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 22nd Apr 2010, 12:11 am
  3. My lines skyrocket out of the screen. How to draw in scale?
    By Qumad in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 23rd Nov 2009, 11:45 am
  4. Specific Linetype
    By SmD71nG in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 14th Jul 2009, 03:45 am
  5. Count amount blocks and length specific polylines
    By SstennizZ in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 16th Jul 2008, 03:33 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts